Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Law 15.7 binding onto player in the ruck

      
  1. #21
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    Coach Colts/ELRA 1&2
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    375
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    40

    Default Re: Law 15.7 binding onto player in the ruck

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    seems unrealistic for the ref - and all the arriving players - to expect to keep tabs on who is who, in the ground
    Well this case was quite simple, tackle, then ruck with only 2 players.

    In case where more than 2 in the ruck, and then some but not all go to ground, then the suggestion above to stick with offside lines determined by those on their feet seems sensible and simple.

  2. #22

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,364
    Thanks (Received)
    161
    Likes (Received)
    1904

    Default Re: Law 15.7 binding onto player in the ruck

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    the suggestion above to stick with offside lines determined by those on their feet seems sensible and simple.
    Yes that was what the Law used to say, but WR very recently specifically changed the Law to say hindmost body part, with a diagram to show people on the floor are included.
    Last edited by crossref; 3 Weeks Ago at 18:03.

  3. #23

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,364
    Thanks (Received)
    161
    Likes (Received)
    1904

    Default Re: Law 15.7 binding onto player in the ruck


  4. #24

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,369
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1530

    Default Re: Law 15.7 binding onto player in the ruck

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    seems unrealistic for the ref - and all the arriving players - to expect to keep tabs on who is who, in the ground
    I agree. Everyone there is in the ruck,

    a. whether or not they are on the ground
    b. whether or not they are on their feet
    c. whether they were there initially (formed the ruck) or joined later

    This is a lot easier for the ref to determine.


    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    This I under stand, however I've been advised that the off feet participants "don't count" as long as the rucker drives over and past the ball. The ruck is the person or people on their feet. So the former participants are no longer classed as participants. That's how it's reffed up here in the Cali leagues anyway.
    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    Ian_Cook - Maybe I'm misunderstanding what your saying with this part

    "The fact that White 19 has driven through is irrelevant, he does not carry the offside line forward with him as he does so, the offside line remains "the hindmost point of any ruck participant"."

    This is how rucks are coached. You drive your opponent back over the ball, once your past the ball another player can then pick the ball up (assuming the driving player is still bound on). Doesn't matter if the initial tackler and BC are there. Tha's what I've been coached and we've had many refs, ref it that way too.
    Its not how its coached in the Club game here at any level, or NPC or SuperRugby, and not how its refereed here either. The only time that applies is when

    a. The player driving past the ball is still on his feet, and
    b. The driving player ends up ahead of the ball, and
    c. The has driven past the player on the ground as well.

    NOTE: That driving must be player bound to an opponent too, he cant just walk through the ruck without binding.

    This is where you often hear referees say "counter-ruck is good" or words to that effect

    In the case in question, White 19 has driven through but has gone off his feet (and in any case, he has not driven past the ball, his left foot is still between White 18 and the ball) and he has not driven past the Gold player on the ground.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 3 Weeks Ago at 19:03.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •