Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Arab my comment was on the wrong thread. Oops

  2. #12
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    574
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Arab my comment was on the wrong thread. Oops
    Ah thought so.

  3. #13

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,678
    Thanks (Received)
    129
    Likes (Received)
    1637

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    We have something of a contradiction in the laws here. Red is juggling the ball and is therefore liable to be tackled (legally). If the ball goes outside his reach and then hits Blue, I can see it as a knock-on. However if the ball is still with in his grasp it seems odd if he can be deemed to be in possession yet guilty of a knock-on.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #14
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Nov 18
    Posts
    574
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    I see what your saying, but the blue player's not attempting a tackle. He's attempting to steal the ball by catching it. He was ultimately unsuccessful in his attempt. But as soon as he tries to catch the ball and touches it. That's the first knock on, unless you deem the 2nd knock on deliberate, the 1st offence would be red's knock on with no advantage as blue have immediately knocked on too.

  5. #15

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,029
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    188

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    We have something of a contradiction in the laws here. Red is juggling the ball and is therefore liable to be tackled (legally). If the ball goes outside his reach and then hits Blue, I can see it as a knock-on. However if the ball is still with in his grasp it seems odd if he can be deemed to be in possession yet guilty of a knock-on.
    My first thought: the 'knock-on' occurs when the ball touches another player or the ground before the original ball-carrier can catch it. However, the Definitions start: "when a player loses possession of the ball and it goes forward", not "when the ball goes forward and a player loses possession of it". So I now tend to accept the argument that, as 'juggling' is 'in possession', the first KO was by Blue. Not that I like it!
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  6. #16

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,668
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1438

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    My first thought: the 'knock-on' occurs when the ball touches another player or the ground before the original ball-carrier can catch it. However, the Definitions start: "when a player loses possession of the ball and it goes forward", not "when the ball goes forward and a player loses possession of it". So I now tend to accept the argument that, as 'juggling' is 'in possession', the first KO was by Blue. Not that I like it!
    I would treat this event as I would a kick. I'm OK with ball going forward as long as the kick is completed. But if kick isn't made, then I'm going KO.

    Likewise, if player is juggling ball and it bounces off a team mate in front. KO.
    Last edited by Dickie E; 03-03-20 at 19:03.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    203

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    Red knocked on then blue knocks on.

    First offence RED so Scrum BLUE.


    UNLESS Blue's knock on was intentional in which case I'd give a PK against him. Reasoning: Deliberate offence trying to "win the scrum".
    The way it has been described in the OP, the Red player is in possession of the ball. Yes, he may be "juggling" it but various clarifications - and the current Law book - say that (despite this "juggling") Red is in possession.

    That being the fact, in the tackle by Blue (as described) the ball is knocked toward the Red Goal Line as a result of contact with the Blue player.

    Hence why I say it is a scrum to Red.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,668
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1438

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Quote Originally Posted by beckett50 View Post
    The way it has been described in the OP, the Red player is in possession of the ball. Yes, he may be "juggling" it but various clarifications - and the current Law book - say that (despite this "juggling") Red is in possession.

    That being the fact, in the tackle by Blue (as described) the ball is knocked toward the Red Goal Line as a result of contact with the Blue player.

    Hence why I say it is a scrum to Red.
    so if Red player was juggling the ball and it bounced off an in-front team mate and back into his hands ... that is play on?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #19

    Referees in New Zealand


    Soc/Assoc
    Bay of Plenty
    Grade
    Secondary School
    Join Date
    05 May 11
    Posts
    1,661
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    245

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    My view is that some are overthinking it. Red lost control of ball forward and it hit an opposition player.


    Red has knocked on and it's a blue scrum.
    "There is far too much talk about good ball and bad ball. In my opinion, good ball is when you have possession and bad ball is when the opposition have it." - Dick Jeeps

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks (Received)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    1924

    Default Re: Whose knock-on is it anyway ?

    Quote Originally Posted by damo View Post
    My view is that some are overthinking it. Red lost control of ball forward and it hit an opposition player.


    Red has knocked on and it's a blue scrum.
    In the OP I think he is saying that Blue intentionally went for the ball (rather than a tackle) and knocked the ball out of red possession.

    So a scrum to Red (or PK if it was judged deliberate)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •