Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [6N] Sco v Fra: "Don't Join"

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Nov 18
    Posts
    191
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    36

    Default [6N] Sco v Fra: "Don't Join"

    Around the 36m mark, the ref tells a Scottish player not to join a ruck which Scotland had already won. I've not seen this before - has there been a directive?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    145
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    38

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: "Don't Join"

    Yes, the referee was trying to stop the caterpillar elongating and slowing down the delivery of the ball. Did he shout 'Use it' before preventing the player from joining - that would seem to give more validity to his call.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Nov 18
    Posts
    191
    Thanks (Received)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    36

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: "Don't Join"

    Quote Originally Posted by timmad View Post
    Did he shout 'Use it' before preventing the player from joining
    Not that I heard, but maybe I missed it.

  4. #4

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    561
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    168

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: "Don't Join"

    I know there was talk of referees calling Use It early to prevent a ruck going on for ever, but I've heard nothing about preventing players from joining a ruck and I've no idea what law would cover this. No harm no foul but I'm not sure it's in the referees remit to do this.

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,023
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1030

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: "Don't Join"

    Quote Originally Posted by timmad View Post
    Yes, the referee was trying to stop the caterpillar elongating and slowing down the delivery of the ball. Did he shout 'Use it' before preventing the player from joining - that would seem to give more validity to his call.
    from my recollection he didn't/hadn't - BUT DID call it immediately after the call to not join.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •