Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: [6N] Sco v Fra: Player on ground

      
  1. #21
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,343
    Thanks (Received)
    23
    Likes (Received)
    382

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: Player on ground

    A single roll or twist is fine, but when you get tackled, roll (so you can present the ball) and then roll again, trying to make it look like momentum, that's not allowed.

    There were several examples at the weekend of the ref calling tackle and the tackled players making several metres of scrabbling/rolling/leg kicking.

  2. #22

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,022
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1028

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: Player on ground

    Quote Originally Posted by Arabcheif View Post
    I did my Lv 1 UKCC cert in the summer. The coaches were coaching that you could move with the ball to pivot on your stomach to present the ball back. Is this permitted, if so I see no difference in turning so your facing your support. Surely BOTH of these are preventing competition?
    I like the long-dog/pencil presentation. But I coach my players to make that turn/position in the tackle, not flap about on the ground after they've landed (various technical reasons FWIW). And I concor with AC's "I see no difference in turning so your facing your support" here.

    Flapping around on the ground is only papering over the cracks of poor contact technique to begin with .

    didds

  3. #23

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,033
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    190

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: Player on ground

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I sometimes penalise that , players think I am mad !
    If possible I will warn them the first time and then PK when it happens again
    If there is someone on their feet who has been prevented from playing the ball by the roll, then I will PK every time. If it is ONE roll (less than 360) to present the ball towards the BC's team with no opposition in position to play the ball, then not material. But I agree, players are coached to do it all the time.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  4. #24

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,425
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    200

    Default Re: [6N] Sco v Fra: Player on ground

    I saw the incident and felt sure the ref was advised from the touchline but chose to ignore it. Why I don't know, it was a easy call
    Ciaran Trainor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •