Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lineout - blocking throw / throw not 5m

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,467
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1934

    Default Lineout - blocking throw / throw not 5m

    People will be interested in this response from laws@rfu.com

    Question
    What is the correct sanction for these two scenarios..

    A) Red lineout.
    When the ball is thrown a Blue player moves inside the 5m line and catches the ball before it has travelled 5m

    B) Red lineout.
    When the ball is thrown a Red player moves inside the 5m line and catches the ball before it has travelled 5m
    Answer
    Thank you for your enquiry. In the scenarios you give:

    A FK sanction as blocking the throw

    B Option of lineout or scrum

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,024
    Thanks (Received)
    76
    Likes (Received)
    1030

    Default Re: Lineout - blocking throw / throw not 5m

    For A is there a distinction between a deliberate interception and an accidental one?

    eg blue hooker in tramlines jumps forward and catches the ball at 4.8m versus blue jumper at #2 reaches slightly too far forward (accidental for want of a better description) with lift etc and catches it at 4.8m ?

    or is it a case of intention is irrelevent?

    didds
    Last edited by didds; 4 Weeks Ago at 12:06.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,491
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    203

    Default Re: Lineout - blocking throw / throw not 5m

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    For A is there a distincrtion between a deliberate interception and an accidental one?

    eg blue hooker in tramlines jumps fiorard and catches the ball at 4.8m versus blue jumper at #2 reaches slightly too far forward (accidental for want of a better description) with lift etc and catches it at 4.8m ?

    or is it a case of intention is irrelevent?

    didds
    First time is FK then there is the opportunity, if it happens again, to escalate to a full arm PK
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •