Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pre Match Inspection of Boots etc.

Referees in England

Soc/Assoc
    Liverpool
    Grade
    New/Ungraded
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)

Default Pre Match Inspection of Boots etc.

I have been coaching juniors for 7 years and now they are Colts have decided to concentrate on reffing.

After all matches I agonise if I should have done this or that so after todays match my first posting to this forum

Just been assessed for ELRA Level 3 at a district 3 and 4th Team Match.

I inspected boots pre match like I always have done and pointed out to an experienced prop that his boots where not in a good condition and two others that their studs in my opinion where sharp (warn footie studs not rugby studs). The reaction I received was as though I had just landed from Mars. " Never had a problem before sir"

Am I being a pedant? I have always told the lads that coached that they should put rugby studs on any boots even if new and it was there responsibility to ensure in good condition. Not rocket science I think but am I makiing a rod for my own back?

Referees in England

Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Pre Match Inspection of Boots etc.

All you should be concerned with is if the studs are sharp.

If they are then the player cannot play in them.

You are no longer responsible for issues of construction, that is a club responsibilty. So don't worry if they are footy studs, but if sharp then the can't be used.

Referees in England

Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)

Hi Keith - welcome to the forum, and a big welcome to the refereeing fraternity.