PDA

View Full Version : [In-goal] 6.11.A



thepercy
06-04-21, 18:04
I was reading Law 6 for another post and read something that stuck out to me.

6.11

If the ball-carrier touches the referee or other non-player in in-goal and either team gains an advantage:

(A) If the ball is in possession of an attacking player, the referee awards a try where the contact takes place.

Is this another way to score? Just touch the referee? If you are being held up, have one of your subs warming up in the in-goal touch you, try awarded?

Flish
06-04-21, 21:04
Need to gain an advantage though? But maybe an attacking player runs into a sub warming up, prevents a tackle, therefore attacking team gain an advantage therefore try?

SimonSmith
07-04-21, 03:04
I was reading Law 6 for another post and read something that stuck out to me.

6.11

If the ball-carrier touches the referee or other non-player in in-goal and either team gains an advantage:

(A) If the ball is in possession of an attacking player, the referee awards a try where the contact takes place.

Is this another way to score? Just touch the referee? If you are being held up, have one of your subs warming up in the in-goal touch you, try awarded?

I’d call that a breach of 3.7 and treat it accordingly

tim White
07-04-21, 18:04
Or call 'Play On'

thepercy
08-04-21, 04:04
I'll be staying away from the ball-carrier.

Jz558
08-04-21, 08:04
Looking at the second part of that law,

6.11.b. If the ball is in possession of a defending player, the referee awards a touch down where the contact took place

Am I right in thinking then that if the defending team take the ball into their own in goal area and, whilst exiting with the ball, collide with the ref/non-player and their exit is prevented, the decision would be scrum 5 attacking ball?

crossref
08-04-21, 08:04
Looking at the second part of that law,

6.11.b. If the ball is in possession of a defending player, the referee awards a touch down where the contact took place

Am I right in thinking then that if the defending team take the ball into their own in goal area and, whilst exiting with the ball, collide with the ref/non-player and their exit is prevented, the decision would be scrum 5 attacking ball?

I think it means you treat it as if the defending player had touched down - so if brought into in goal by attackers = 22m DO, if by the defenders = 5m scrum

Jz558
08-04-21, 09:04
Thats how I read the law. Just struck me as being not particularly fair if, through no fault of the ball carrier, he/she concedes an attacking scrum.

Rich_NL
08-04-21, 09:04
Taking the ball back into your own in-goal is always a risk; it's not the ball carrier's fault if the other team have great line speed and tackle them either. Running into the ref seems at least partly your own fault. :)

crossref
08-04-21, 09:04
these things are so rare anyway- I can't remember ever colliding with a player in goal.

It's hard to think how it would most likely happen?

Rich_NL
08-04-21, 09:04
I did it once early in my reffing days, 5m penalty and I was badly positioned. Defending player accidentally ran into me, knocked me into the attacking player, I gave the try - fortunately no controversy.

Jz558
08-04-21, 09:04
At my level it's much more likely to be a discarded tackle bag, drinks bottle holder, dog walker, dog without walker, stray child or other team taking a short cut to their own pitch.

crossref
08-04-21, 10:04
I did it once early in my reffing days, 5m penalty and I was badly positioned. Defending player accidentally ran into me, knocked me into the attacking player, I gave the try - fortunately no controversy.

bet that hurt !

Rich_NL
08-04-21, 10:04
Haha, I was the biggest of the three, ex second rower here. No-one was injured!