George North's Dead Ball Line Try - Legal or Not?
by
Published on 02-10-12 15:10
Number of Views: 14932
When the Scarlets met the Ospreys last week there was a try which was scored by George North that had a few debates in the supporters & referee forums.
As the ball is put into the in goal both Tom Isaacs and George North fail to ground the ball (though there is a knock on by Tom Isaacs as the ball goes forward off him onto George North), the ball then goes backwards off George North onto the ground and both players slide over the dead ball line. George North is then the first player to ground the ball, but does so whilst he is over the dead ball line. Is this legal? The simple answer from all referees would be yes because of this law:
Law 22.4(g)
Player in touch or touch-in-goal.
If an attacking player is in touch or in touch-in-goal, the player can score a try by grounding the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not carrying the ball.
But hang on, George North wasn't touch in Goal, he was over the dead ball line. Does this make a difference?
The answer is No, the law isn't clear here on if the Dead Ball line is counted as Touch-in-Goal, or if a different outcome should apply, so referees will consistently treat the two as the same, until the IRB either clarify their interpretation is correct, or make it clear what another outcome should be.
The biggest complaint of referees is a lack of consistency, well not here.
In addressing this question, I have found no law that says that a ball carrier in-goal who touches anything that is in T-I-G or beyond the dead ball line is himself now out of play, nor that the ball he is carrying is dead. This being the case, Law 22.12 is apparently redundant, and can safely be ditched:
22.12 BALL OR PLAYER TOUCHING A FLAG OR FLAG (CORNER) POST
If the ball or a player carrying the ball touches a flag or a flag (corner) post at the intersection of the touch-in-goal lines and the goal lines or at the intersection of the touch-in-goal lines and the dead ball lines without otherwise being in touch or touch-in-goal the ball is not out of play unless it is first grounded against a flag post.
Could be a bit unsporting, though