View RSS Feed

dave adams

Advice please

Rate this Entry
Blue eight makes a run and is stopped by gold eight but both players stay on their feet. He manages to turn , shielding the ball, but is temporarily isolated from his team mates. No maul has formed
Gold five runs around blue eight and attempts to rip away the ball, thereby obstructing blues arriving team mates from assisting. The ball is trapped until gold eight wrestles him to the ground.
My question is whether gold five is offside or not?
Can anyone point me towards the relevant law that deals with this situation?


  1. Robert Burns's Avatar
    he is not offside. the fact a law has not formed means open play is in effect.
  2. Robert Burns's Avatar
    law = maul. iphone issue.
  3. smeagol's Avatar
    Yeah, it is not a maul until a second blue player joins in.
  4. Guyseep's Avatar
    No maul so no offside. No tackle so no need to enter through the gate.

    what happens if blue goes into contact with the ball, gold holds him up and turns him. If blue support goes around and rips the ball from his team mate, is that a forward pass or accidental offside?
  5. Browner's Avatar
    Maul created, one of the participants exits maul with ball, play on.