in the old days there was a law that said
"Any player may tackle, hold or push an opponent holding the ball." - which (pretty much) covered the ankle tap .. it comes under push in that you push...
Type: Posts; User: crossref; Keyword(s):
in the old days there was a law that said
"Any player may tackle, hold or push an opponent holding the ball." - which (pretty much) covered the ankle tap .. it comes under push in that you push...
sounds like you would have deserved a 79th minute PK under the sticks !! :biggrin:
neither did I really - and yet his boot ddi seem to clip the tacklers head, so perhaps it was.
did you think May was dangerous -- or reckless?
It didn't seem to me to be very dangerous .... and yet his boot did clip the Italian's head (or came very very close) so perhaps it was?
Which did Jonny May do ?
I think a typical dive to score is a low trajectory .. avoiding a tackle by going low
May was different , he dived over a tackler
Don't ask me whether it was legal or not .. am so confused now...
jumping into a tackle (fair game to tackle) v jumping to catch a ball (not) ??????
i think the key difference is
- jumping / hurdling : you are expecting to land on your feet, so your feet will be below/in front of you
- diving : you are expecting to land on your elbows, feet...
But May was clearly diving, not hurdling - and yet still his boot met the tackler's head (or was millimeters from it)
So are we really to say that one is dangerous, and the other isn't?
you are missing nothing, it was a problematic call
https://youtu.be/L3s796b43hA
Here it is .. does the boot clip the head ?
TMO and ref don't even consider it
yes, that would be better, but I think it would be very reasonable for a referee to state that teams need to be ready for the instrction 'crouch' within 30s , and to FK if not.
Luke Pearce does...
i thought that - but strangely the conversation between the TMO and ref didn't even mention this possibility. They seemed totally focussed on touch, never discussed if the dive was OK or not, never...
yes, but 'ready to form' must mean you can call 'crouch' , so ...
we do ALREADY have this Law
19.4 Teams must be ready to form the scrum within 30 seconds of the mark being made. Sanction: Free-kick.
so if you apply that your CROUCH will me - at most - 30...
Had the whistle gone ?
Is this even a mail following a line out ?
You can't tell much from a still
the signal for awarding scrum is the same as that for advantage, in a still you couldn't...
yes.
So they were discussing head clash, so I was thinking : they must have decided already it WAS foul play, and are considereing PK/YC/RC
but then when decided no clear head contact they said...
they never seemed to discuss whether there was foul play (late / no arms) just the head contact. Head contact only comes into play AFTER you have decided it is foul play.
Something went wrong...
a better summary might be that the Law isn't clear and neither is convention. Opinions differ
Full house of signals used then
that would be brave ref !
However equally the ball is only dead, and the game is over when the ref blows, so conceivably the ball could go through the posts and the ref could have a little think...
if awarded a FK from a failed restart, can they choose a scrum anyway, like with any FK ?
Perhaps 3 is to draw the game, so not optimal, does the late tackle change anything
It's a good scenario
If they take the DG I think it's the end of the game
But perhaps they could have the PK
Haven't we discussed this before , actually
that made me smile :)