Search:

Type: Posts; User: crossref; Keyword(s):

Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.23 seconds.

  1. Replies
    5
    Views
    209

    Re: Legality of the ankle tap

    in the old days there was a law that said

    "Any player may tackle, hold or push an opponent holding the ball." - which (pretty much) covered the ankle tap .. it comes under push in that you push...
  2. [Scrum] Re: International and 1st class scrums, time to stop the clock?

    sounds like you would have deserved a 79th minute PK under the sticks !! :biggrin:
  3. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    neither did I really - and yet his boot ddi seem to clip the tacklers head, so perhaps it was.
  4. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    did you think May was dangerous -- or reckless?

    It didn't seem to me to be very dangerous .... and yet his boot did clip the Italian's head (or came very very close) so perhaps it was?
  5. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    Which did Jonny May do ?
  6. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    I think a typical dive to score is a low trajectory .. avoiding a tackle by going low
    May was different , he dived over a tackler

    Don't ask me whether it was legal or not .. am so confused now...
  7. Replies
    38
    Views
    1,572

    [Law] Re: Farrell Late Hit v Italy

    jumping into a tackle (fair game to tackle) v jumping to catch a ball (not) ??????
  8. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    i think the key difference is
    - jumping / hurdling : you are expecting to land on your feet, so your feet will be below/in front of you
    - diving : you are expecting to land on your elbows, feet...
  9. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    But May was clearly diving, not hurdling - and yet still his boot met the tackler's head (or was millimeters from it)

    So are we really to say that one is dangerous, and the other isn't?
  10. Replies
    38
    Views
    1,572

    [Law] Re: Farrell Late Hit v Italy

    you are missing nothing, it was a problematic call
  11. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    https://youtu.be/L3s796b43hA

    Here it is .. does the boot clip the head ?
    TMO and ref don't even consider it
  12. [Scrum] Re: International and 1st class scrums, time to stop the clock?

    yes, that would be better, but I think it would be very reasonable for a referee to state that teams need to be ready for the instrction 'crouch' within 30s , and to FK if not.

    Luke Pearce does...
  13. Replies
    33
    Views
    1,300

    [Law] Re: Jumping or Diving Clarification required

    i thought that - but strangely the conversation between the TMO and ref didn't even mention this possibility. They seemed totally focussed on touch, never discussed if the dive was OK or not, never...
  14. [Scrum] Re: International and 1st class scrums, time to stop the clock?

    yes, but 'ready to form' must mean you can call 'crouch' , so ...
  15. [Scrum] Re: International and 1st class scrums, time to stop the clock?

    we do ALREADY have this Law

    19.4 Teams must be ready to form the scrum within 30 seconds of the mark being made. Sanction: Free-kick.

    so if you apply that your CROUCH will me - at most - 30...
  16. Replies
    75
    Views
    6,270

    Re: Bath Vs Wasps 8.1.21

    Had the whistle gone ?
    Is this even a mail following a line out ?

    You can't tell much from a still

    the signal for awarding scrum is the same as that for advantage, in a still you couldn't...
  17. Replies
    38
    Views
    1,572

    [Law] Re: Farrell Late Hit v Italy

    yes.
    So they were discussing head clash, so I was thinking : they must have decided already it WAS foul play, and are considereing PK/YC/RC

    but then when decided no clear head contact they said...
  18. Replies
    38
    Views
    1,572

    [Law] Re: Farrell Late Hit v Italy

    they never seemed to discuss whether there was foul play (late / no arms) just the head contact. Head contact only comes into play AFTER you have decided it is foul play.
    Something went wrong...
  19. Replies
    38
    Views
    1,572

    [Law] Re: Farrell Late Hit v Italy

    a better summary might be that the Law isn't clear and neither is convention. Opinions differ
  20. Replies
    75
    Views
    6,270

    Re: Bath Vs Wasps 8.1.21

    Full house of signals used then
  21. Replies
    34
    Views
    1,303

    [Law] Re: Superbowl - advantage question.

    that would be brave ref !

    However equally the ball is only dead, and the game is over when the ref blows, so conceivably the ball could go through the posts and the ref could have a little think...
  22. Re: Southern hemisphere law changes confirmed

    if awarded a FK from a failed restart, can they choose a scrum anyway, like with any FK ?
  23. Replies
    34
    Views
    1,303

    [Law] Re: Superbowl - advantage question.

    Perhaps 3 is to draw the game, so not optimal, does the late tackle change anything
  24. Replies
    34
    Views
    1,303

    [Law] Re: Superbowl - advantage question.

    It's a good scenario

    If they take the DG I think it's the end of the game
    But perhaps they could have the PK

    Haven't we discussed this before , actually
  25. Replies
    34
    Views
    1,303

    [Law] Re: Superbowl - advantage question.

    that made me smile :)
Results 1 to 25 of 500
Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4