Search:

Type: Posts; User: Jz558; Keyword(s):

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.04 seconds.

  1. Thread: Lifting Tackle

    by Jz558
    Replies
    28
    Views
    1,046

    [Tackle] Re: Lifting Tackle

    The difficulty here of course is that whilst we can agonise and debate how to deal with this on the field of play the coach in question is in no doubt that he is right and can see no reason to...
  2. Replies
    19
    Views
    580

    [Line out] Re: Asking for Numbers

    It's very easy to manage on the very few occasions it happens and it's really not difficult to ask the non-throwing side to drop a player. Any delay is shorter than blowing for a free-kick and...
  3. Replies
    19
    Views
    580

    [Line out] Re: Asking for Numbers

    Apologies I didnt write that very clearly. I meant I would allow the non-throwing side to adjust to the correct numbers and it would apply to both sides throughout the game.
  4. Replies
    19
    Views
    580

    [Line out] Re: Asking for Numbers

    It is a real bugbear of mine. The ball goes out for the first lineout of the game and the defending side immediately start shouting for numbers. If/when it happens, I stop the game and explain to...
  5. [Law] Re: When and why the intentional knock-on rule was added to the rugby laws?

    I'd rather World Rugby left well alone. I have no confidence that they would be able to do so without creating a cascade of unintentional problems. In addition, what would be the point? We already...
  6. Replies
    19
    Views
    877

    Re: Another stand-up tackle

    I did wonder that but ultimately I dont think it matters which way round you ask the questions. Either way if there is no foul play its play on so why spend time holding up the game? As I said...
  7. Replies
    19
    Views
    877

    Re: Another stand-up tackle

    Whether thetackle was high or reckless is a matter for the referee to decide and not whatI’m interested in. I’m interested in how he applied the process because ifprofessional referees are confused...
  8. Replies
    19
    Views
    877

    Re: Another stand-up tackle

    I agree withPhil but here's where the procedure is a mess and I think Didds was alluding toit earlier.

    In this instance the team of 4 rightly concludedthat no head contact had taken place. The...
  9. Replies
    19
    Views
    877

    Re: Another stand-up tackle

    The answers so far only serve to emphasise what is becoming clearly ridiculous. In this case no head contact occured so play on, nothing to see here. If either head is 2 or 3 cms further over than...
  10. Replies
    19
    Views
    877

    Another stand-up tackle

    https://twitter.com/PremierSportsTV/status/1393294776003448835

    The more guidelines are issued the less it all seems to make sense. I think Iain Henderson articulates the situation perfectly.
  11. Replies
    9
    Views
    504

    Re: Messy lineout - saints v gloucester

    I thought the whole thing was a mess from start to finish and as Balones says is largely the result of the basics being ignored. If you were trying to highlight to a new ref all the things that could...
  12. Replies
    9
    Views
    504

    Messy lineout - saints v gloucester

    https://www.premiershiprugby.com/watch/full-match-northampton-saints-v-gloucester-rugby-round-18

    Apologies but I cant mark the time on the video as the premiership site doesnt seem to have the...
  13. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    I dont really understand why, at the time of the rewrite, World Rugby needed to insist that there were no changes. Who would have cared if they'd said we've abreviated the law book and there are some...
  14. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    The danger here is that by sneaking changes back in that may or may not have been intentional in 2017 we risk a scenario where you look a proper Charlie having made a decision during a game,...
  15. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    Interestingly Crossref recorded the change in his spreadsheet of the differences between the laws pre/post 2017 rewrite.

    4082
  16. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    I'd agree that it's not very well written but I cant imagine that that the put in would go to the side who incorrectly took the kick but stranger things have happened. The one that makes me laugh is...
  17. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    20.2 - Kick taken from the wrong place - retake
    20.11- Incorrectly taken kick - scrum.
  18. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    I cant really work out what the 9 was protesting about. Looking at it again though the ref would be within her rights to award the scrum under 20.11 although I'm not sure thats equitable. I'd be...
  19. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,818

    [Law] Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    The first incident was, as you say, marginal but in my opinion didnt go past the horizontal so play on. Essentially though the tackler wasnt in control of the outcome. If the England 8 twists once...
  20. [Tackle] Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    At this stage I'm no clearer on what the outcome should be when I see a similar incident during one of my games. To be clear, prior to the incident and discussion, I would have applied the 'tackler...
  21. [Tackle] Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    It seems to me that the new framework undermines the efforts of the game to get rid of the stand up tackle. In this case, and using the framework, no foul play has occured therefore play-on. The...
  22. Thread: 6.11.A

    by Jz558
    Replies
    13
    Views
    1,013

    [In-goal] Re: 6.11.A

    At my level it's much more likely to be a discarded tackle bag, drinks bottle holder, dog walker, dog without walker, stray child or other team taking a short cut to their own pitch.
  23. Thread: 6.11.A

    by Jz558
    Replies
    13
    Views
    1,013

    [In-goal] Re: 6.11.A

    Thats how I read the law. Just struck me as being not particularly fair if, through no fault of the ball carrier, he/she concedes an attacking scrum.
  24. Replies
    80
    Views
    3,805

    [Law] Re: Clarification 1 "021

    Same reply as Crossref - I would allow the replacement in all 4 cases (as I would also for the YC scenarios).
  25. Thread: 6.11.A

    by Jz558
    Replies
    13
    Views
    1,013

    [In-goal] Re: 6.11.A

    Looking at the second part of that law,

    6.11.b. If the ball is in possession of a defending player, the referee awards a touch down where the contact took place

    Am I right in thinking then...
Results 1 to 25 of 238
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4