Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Interrupted tackle sequence...

      
  1. #1

    Referees in America
    BurritoKing's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Midwest
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    05 Oct 10
    Posts
    18
    Blog Entries
    1

    Question Interrupted tackle sequence...

    I’ll try to describe this, but please bear with me.

    Ball carrier A was tackled by player B so when the landed they formed an L with the ball carrier A landing north/south and the tackler B laying on the ball carriers legs going east/west.

    Immediately, the ball carrier released the ball in the area between both players. No ruck had been formed yet, and then the original ball carrier (player A) picked up the ball to set it behind the tackler (player B) who was still lying on player A’s legs.

    Before I tell you what I called, what do you think should have happened?

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    PK against A for playing the ball on the ground. He'd exercised his options as permitted by Law 14; at that point, he's required to roll away and/or get up. He did neither, so it's a PK against.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  3. #3

    Referees in America
    BurritoKing's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Midwest
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    05 Oct 10
    Posts
    18
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    That is exactly what I did. PK for playing the ball while on the ground. And afterwards the coach had a few choice words for me, telling me that I was wrong for not penalizing player B for not rolling away. The coach was claiming that the tackle sequence was not followed (tackler release, ball carrier play it...). I explained that the ball carrier did exercise his option and released the ball. Had he not do so, then the tackler would have been penalized.

    I am waiting for the video to confirm it and then an apology from the coach, but my guess is I will get neither.

  4. #4

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,748

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    The tackle sequence is convention, not law. Law 15 requires both players to act immediately, not one after the other.

    The convention is good in helping referee the tackle area in most situations. Often the ball carrier cannot do anything until released. In this case, even if the tackler was too slow in releasing, it does not excuse playing the ball on the ground.

    (Was the pitch oriented north/south, or east/west?)
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,069

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    No, but the first offence must be the tackler not rolling away - that he has not done 'immediately'. Indeed so slowly that BC has time to do 3 actions (place ball, wait, pick ball up), and indeed a 4th (place ball down again). If tackler had tried to get up or roll away, he would have interferred with BC's 3rd & 4th actions?

    The case for the defence, M'Lud.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,114

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    was the tackled player material?

    I suppose there is a case for saying he was as the tackled player (presumably?) thought it wise to move the placed ball past the tackler.

    i dunno, me!

    didds

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    I'll go with Dixie on this one.
    The tackle "sequence" is there to guide the ref and get a logical chain of events to allow the ball carrier/tackled player to exercise his options and make the ball available.
    The tackler, although technically not having released, had not prevented the tackled player from exercising his options. Had the tackled player not "played the ball while on the ground" (second placement of the ball), you would have pinged the tackler for not releasing. These things can happen so quickly. In the opening RWC match, Ma Nonu was tackled, placed the ball and then played it again (whilst still on the ground) before the tackler had time to release. In that instance, Nonu got away with it and they played on when in fact the referee should have done what you did and PK the tackled player for playing the ball while being off his feet.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  8. #8

    Referees in America
    BurritoKing's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Midwest
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    05 Oct 10
    Posts
    18
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    The pitch was orientated in such that the tackler was parallel with the goal line and the ball carrier was parallel to the touchline. It took place around the defensive 10 meter line.

    Also to add - I was wondering why any other player didn't arrive and just pick up the ball. The time it took for the entire sequence seemed to last forever and after the BC had "replaced" it, arriving players finally got there. Most likely it only took a few seconds, but when you focus in on it, you can't believe that the player is actually going through with it.

    I am guessing that something preventative could have been said at the time, but that match is over. Store this in the memory bank for future reference.
    Last edited by BurritoKing; 13-09-11 at 01:09.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,027
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    If theres no one there to pick up the ball, why PK? Materiality.

    If someone is trying to get the ball and this move prevented it, then PK away.

    Don't blow if you dont have to.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770

    Default Re: Interrupted tackle sequence...

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Ma Nonu was tackled, placed the ball and then played it again.
    The ref probably wondered why a middle-aged lady was playing the game, when her son Ma'a would have been arguably more effective!
    Don't feed the pedant!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. management - best sequence
    By crossref in forum Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-12-11, 15:12
  2. New Engagement Sequence?
    By ex-lucy in forum Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28-10-08, 11:10
  3. New Engagement Sequence
    By PaulDG in forum Archive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 18-09-08, 15:09
  4. engagement sequence
    By ex-lucy in forum Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-05-08, 12:05
  5. Penalty interrupted?
    By blindasabat in forum Archive
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 13-11-06, 14:11

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •