Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Penalty faux pas

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    ruareftrev91's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cornwall Rugby Referees
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    05 May 11
    Posts
    52

    Default Penalty faux pas

    At a recent level 8 league game red were awarded a penalty kick in their own 22. Red 10 went to kick the ball from hand into touch, released the ball then missed it completely doing an 'air shot'. The referee gave a scrum at the mark to green. After much chuckling at the kicking ability of red 10, red coach disagreed with the decision stating "as the ball hadn't been kicked, it was not live thus it should have been re-taken".

    What's the correct decision? Monthly society meeting was split on the outcome.

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,698

    Default

    I think
    - its a correct decision
    - but in some games, in some circumstances, may be more empathatic to let him have another bite at cherry .

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,731

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    I would probably agree with the coach - ball becomes live again when moved by the boot, or if scrum option taken when it is put into the scrum.

    If the 10 for example did that bounce the ball and carch again thing before taking the kick would we give a knock on? Or same action by 9 before putting to scrum? I would seriously doubt it.

    But I haven't ever had to worry about it before so that's just an instinctive reaction.
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    DrSTU's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Wherever I may be living at the time!
    Grade
    Runs like mini T-rex
    Join Date
    24 Dec 08
    Posts
    2,782

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    Correct decision, if the coach wants to be pedantic you could say that he played the ball through the mark incorrectly.

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia


    Soc/Assoc
    Sydney West Rugby Referees Association
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    02 Aug 10
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    If the red 10 picked the ball up and attempted to kick it again, then that is OK, as no kick has been taken.

    If the red 10 picked the ball up and attempted to play on, then award a scrum.

    If everyone is standing around not knowing what to do, blow the whistle, and give the red 10 another shot.

    The only time I would award a scrum for an air swing would be at a FK, and only really if there was an opposition player attempting a charge down.

    All in all, I side with the coach on this one.

  6. #6

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,748

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    If a kick-off or drop out is taken incorrectly,the opposition has a choice of scrum or re-take kick.

    Law 21.3 (a) specifies how a penalty should be taken but there is no sanction specifically attached to that sub-paragraph. Oddly, (b) and (c) both have the same sanction. My belief is that it ought to apply to (a) as well: scrum to opposition.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #7

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    Quote Originally Posted by ruareftrev91 View Post
    At a recent level 8 league game red were awarded a penalty kick in their own 22. Red 10 went to kick the ball from hand into touch, released the ball then missed it completely doing an 'air shot'. The referee gave a scrum at the mark to green. After much chuckling at the kicking ability of red 10, red coach disagreed with the decision stating "as the ball hadn't been kicked, it was not live thus it should have been re-taken". What's the correct decision? Monthly society meeting was split on the outcome.
    I would agree with the coach. The ball was dead, and hasn't been back into play yet. As it was a PK the oppos couldn't charge anyway, so I would have just asked him to take it again.

    Imagine if he was lining up the kick and the ball slipped out of his hand, would you give a knock on? I doubt it as the ball was still dead. I would treat this the same.

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    If a kick-off or drop out is taken incorrectly,the opposition has a choice of scrum or re-take kick.
    I can see the logic, but until the ball's been kicked, I would suggest the kick-off hasn't even been taken yet.
    Last edited by Taff; 17-11-11 at 23:11.

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    DrSTU's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Wherever I may be living at the time!
    Grade
    Runs like mini T-rex
    Join Date
    24 Dec 08
    Posts
    2,782

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    So, the player can now have a few warm up kicks in before he kicks it (like at golf)?

  9. #9

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,748

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Imagine if he was lining up the kick and the ball slipped out of his hand, would you give a knock on? I doubt it as the ball was still dead. I would treat this the same.
    Drops the ball = no attempt to kick. Start again. Air shot = failed attempt. Scrum. IMHO.

    Not properly covered in the Laws (and I am not surprised!).

    Law 20.4 (d) "any other irregularity" ?
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,869

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    we have all see the SH place the ball on the mark then "pretend" to take the quick tap. Is this any different? Maybe intent is the key.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 109
    Last Post: 01-05-09, 11:05
  2. Penalty and Yellow card but no penalty try.
    By Gandalf in forum Archive
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 29-11-05, 09:11

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •