Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 43 of 43

Thread: Penalty faux pas

      
  1. #41

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    Menace, but if the ball falls over at a penalty, the kicker is allowed to stop his approach and put it back on the tee. Contrast a conversion. So I am quite happy with the concept of different restart points for different sanctions and I think I would generally allow a kick to be taken for a penalty were the kicker silly enough to manage to miss the ball. But for FK it is clearly game on as soon as he starts his approach.

  2. #42

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    That reminds me of a scene from a long-forgotten TV series: ... Man : "So? I've got shoes on my feet but I'm not walking" Name that series!
    Possibly "The Journalist".

  3. #43

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,578
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Penalty faux pas

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinky View Post
    Menace, but if the ball falls over at a penalty, the kicker is allowed to stop his approach and put it back on the tee. Contrast a conversion. So I am quite happy with the concept of different restart points for different sanctions and I think I would generally allow a kick to be taken for a penalty were the kicker silly enough to manage to miss the ball. But for FK it is clearly game on as soon as he starts his approach.
    With all due respect - so?
    If it does so prior to him starting to advance - no prob. If he starts to advance and it falls then he can still reset it. Either way has the minute to complete the kick. You don't time off so it is still 'play'. It's just opposition have an exception in law to their restriction.

    If adult player airswing a set pk kick - he probably deserves the scrum over then he best find a new game or someone in the team that can kick.

    I've already conceded I'm not sure what I'd give but I'm sure I'll assess the skill level first and apply empathy in line with the game. I'm sure whatever I'll give it will be with confidence and a sound reason if questioned.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 109
    Last Post: 01-05-09, 11:05
  2. Penalty and Yellow card but no penalty try.
    By Gandalf in forum Archive
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 29-11-05, 09:11

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •