
Referees in England
Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?
I think you have the positoon clear now. Relevant laws are:
Law 1 Definition: The Field of play is the area (as shown on the plan) between the goal lines and the touchlines. These lines are not part of the field of play.
17.1 FORMING A MAUL
(a) Where can a maul take place. A maul can only take place in the field of play.
17.5 SUCCESSFUL END TO A MAUL
A maul ends successfully when :
...
• the ball is on or over the goal line.
22.6 SCRUM, RUCK OR MAUL PUSHED INTO IN-GOAL
A scrum, ruck or maul can take place only in the field of play. As soon as a scrum, ruck or maul is pushed across the goal line, a player may legally ground the ball.This results in a touch down or try.
22.10 BALL HELD UP IN-GOAL
When a player carrying the ball is held up in the in-goal so that the player cannot ground the ball, the ball is dead. A 5-metre scrum is formed.
This would apply if play similar to a maul takes place in in-goal. The attacking team throws in the ball.