Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Tackle or not?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770

    Default Re: Tackle or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
    Depends what you mean by "come in".

    15.6(c) Players in opposition to the ball carrier who remain on their feet who bring the ball carrier to ground so that the player is tackled must release the ball and the ball carrier. Those players may then play the ball providing they are on their feet and do so from behind the ball and from directly behind the tackled player or a tackler closest to those players’ goal line.
    Sanction: Penalty kick


    You will see that there is no requirement to exit and re-enter. All he has to do is to ensure that he's behind the ball when he goes for it. This should be easy enough in the scenario you defined.
    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    The bit I have emphasised says it is more than just behind the ball. My take is that the law is explaining what "exit and re-enter" would mean.
    If that is the case, it does a very poor job, OB - which (given the iRB's record on such things) is not to say you are wrong! But consider this...

    Attacker well clear, only the full back to beat. Everyone else miles away and will play no part in this scenario. Defender attempts wrap tackle, turning the attacker, but attacker manages to go to ground. Defender by now is ahead of the ball, and facing his own posts. Attacker places ball a yard back from where he's lying - which is just beyond the defender's feet. Defender (who is behind the ball) kicks the ball.

    In this scenario, PK against the defender. He played the ball while behind it, but not while behind the tackled player. So what could he have done?

    Same scenario. Defender realises he has to get behind the tackled player as well as behind the ball before he can play it. He steps so that both feet are just behind the grounded tackled player, then steps forward and kicks the ball. Is this OK? He was always behind the ball, so that criterion is met. He also played the ball from directly behind the tackled player, so that criterion is met. He has complied fully with the law, without ever once stepping outside the tackle zone. QED.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  2. #12

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,750

    Default Re: Tackle or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
    If that is the case, it does a very poor job, OB - which (given the iRB's record on such things) is not to say you are wrong!
    As you say ...
    But consider this...

    Attacker well clear, only the full back to beat. Everyone else miles away and will play no part in this scenario. Defender attempts wrap tackle, turning the attacker, but attacker manages to go to ground. Defender by now is ahead of the ball, and facing his own posts. Attacker places ball a yard back from where he's lying - which is just beyond the defender's feet. Defender (who is behind the ball) kicks the ball.

    In this scenario, PK against the defender. He played the ball while behind it, but not while behind the tackled player. So what could he have done?

    Same scenario. Defender realises he has to get behind the tackled player as well as behind the ball before he can play it. He steps so that both feet are just behind the grounded tackled player, then steps forward and kicks the ball. Is this OK? He was always behind the ball, so that criterion is met. He also played the ball from directly behind the tackled player, so that criterion is met. He has complied fully with the law, without ever once stepping outside the tackle zone. QED.
    I think your second scenario is the one covered by the law. Note that the concept of the tackle zone is shorthand for what the law says. It is not a part of the law.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #13

    Default Re: Tackle or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
    Attacker well clear, only the full back to beat. Everyone else miles away and will play no part in this scenario. Defender attempts wrap tackle, turning the attacker, but attacker manages to go to ground. Defender by now is ahead of the ball, and facing his own posts. Attacker places ball a yard back from where he's lying - which is just beyond the defender's feet. Defender (who is behind the ball) kicks the ball.

    In this scenario, PK against the defender. He played the ball while behind it, but not while behind the tackled player. So what could he have done?

    QED.
    If the defender dropped to one knee while still engaged in the wrap tackle, he would then be considered a "tackler", and can play the ball from any direction.

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770

    Default Re: Tackle or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by sdingley View Post
    If the defender dropped to one knee while still engaged in the wrap tackle, he would then be considered a "tackler", and can play the ball from any direction.
    True - assuming he first regains his feet. I haven't seen you post before, sdlingley - good to have you on board.
    Don't feed the pedant!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •