Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: penalty kick bounces before touch

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    20 Jan 11
    Posts
    19

    Default penalty kick bounces before touch

    I have always given the kicking team the throw in even if the ball bounces before it goes into touch. I was questioned on this today. Am I right? I can't find a reference in the law book

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Quebec Society of Rugby Referees
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    16 Feb 12
    Posts
    322

    Default Re: penalty kick bounces before touch

    You were right. The law does not specify that the kicker has to kick directly to touch.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Club
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    14 Dec 12
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: penalty kick bounces before touch

    Law 19.4 - When a team takes a penalty kick, and the ball is kicked into touch, the throw-in is taken by a player of the team that took the penalty kick. This applies whether the ball was kicked directly or indirectly into touch.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    20 Jan 11
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: penalty kick bounces before touch

    Thank you, I don't know how I missed this as I did look through the laws before posting!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •