Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Size and weight bands for youth Rugby?

Probationer Member

Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1

Default Size and weight bands for youth Rugby?

As a youth coach, I'm in favour of size and weight bands replacing age bands. In youth there is huge variation in size and weight, with larger players able to dominate some games.

In my view is we played in SW bands, then all things being equal this would promote skill and game management over size advantage.

Its not good for big players who develop early to base their games on their size, likewise its not good for smaller players feeling they can't compete.

As coaches i'm sure we all try to skill up our players, but playing in size bands would force clubs to focus on skills and game management to win games.

Once they get over 18 then this dropped.

Referees in England

Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots

Default Re: Size and weight bands for youth Rugby?

they have that in NZ, but it's not all good - it has undesirable consequences.

firstly - weigh-in is once or twice a season (it can't be every game for obvious reason) youngsters can be encouraged/incentivised to sweat off kilos of water to make the grade

secondly being sorted reigidly fatties / thinnies makes kids very body/weight/fat conscious which is not goo

thirdly a kid who is fat is separated from his friends and told to play with the older lot

fourthly : rugby isn't just about size. just because someone is big/small doesn't mean they will work better moving up/down

Referees in England

Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire / Southern Federation
    Grade
    RFU Group Match Observer

Given the RFU mission statements and inclusiveness focus, and the oft quoted "A Game for all shapes and sizes" I see little prospect of any such scheme in England.

Referees in England

Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade