Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Pretty sure but.........

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    Taffy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Devon
    Grade
    11 plus 1
    Join Date
    17 Sep 12
    Posts
    342

    Default Pretty sure but.........

    Blue kicks long today from around half way. It is touched in flight by black (very lightly). Ball goes into in goal where it is picked up by Black who probably hasn't seen the touch from his angle (although I did shout out "touched in flight". He dabs the ball down in goal. So I think, it was put into goal by Black (from the touched in flight) and is therefore a scrum 5. Can't believe the looks I got. But surely this is right?

  2. #2

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,612

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Yes, with Blue to throw in

    You saw it and called it touched. Its their responsibility to understand what will happen next.

  3. #3

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,938

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Bang on in my book.

    Put in-goal by Black and made dead ie attacking 5m scrum.

    Someone is bound to say "Shout louder". Perhaps they just need to listen harder.

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,238

    Default

    Quite right...
    But shout louder :-)

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,238

    Default

    I had something similar at the weekend. Also u18
    Clearance kick by white, inside own 22m, lightly touched by blue.
    I shout 'touched by blue'
    Ball travels a long way, and goes into touch.
    One player is really paying attention.. White 9 who sees the opportunity, races after the ball, collects it in touch and takes a quick throw-in to his winger who was following his lead

    He was an excellent player, not the only moment in the game where he was quicker thinking than any other player on the pitch.
    (And from Simon's old school, if I am not mistaken)

  6. #6

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,158

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I had something similar at the weekend. Also u18
    Clearance kick by white, inside own 22m, lightly touched by blue.
    I shout 'touched by blue'
    Ball travels a long way, and goes into touch.
    One player is really paying attention.. White 9 who sees the opportunity, races after the ball, collects it in touch and takes a quick throw-in to his winger who was following his lead

    He was an excellent player, not the only moment in the game where he was quicker thinking than any other player on the pitch.
    (And from Simon's old school, if I am not mistaken)
    was white 9 onside at time of kick?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,158

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Bang on in my book.

    Put in-goal by Black and made dead ie attacking 5m scrum.
    22.7(d) says this:

    If a defending player threw or took the ball into the in-goal, and a defending player grounded it, and there has been no infringement, play is restarted by a 5-metre scrum. The position of the scrum is in line with where the ball has been touched down. The attacking side throws in the ball.
    Its remains a bit of stretch to consider a graze as being "threw" or "took".

    But not an argument I am likely to win
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,612

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    was white 9 onside at time of kick?

    It may not matter. Touched in flight puts everyone onside except players offside under the 10m Law.

    11.3 BEING PUT ONSIDE BY OPPONENTS
    In general play, there are three ways by which an offside player can be put onside by an
    action of the opposing team. These three ways do not apply to a player who is offside under
    the 10-Metre Law.
    (a) Runs 5 metres with ball. When an opponent carrying the ball runs 5 metres, the offside
    player is put onside.
    (b) Kicks or passes. When an opponent kicks or passes the ball, the offside player is put
    onside.
    (c) Intentionally touches ball. When an opponent intentionally touches the ball but does not
    catch it, the offside player is put onside.


  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Drift's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    06 Jan 10
    Posts
    1,825

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    was white 9 onside at time of kick?
    Does it matter? The ball was touched.

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,158

    Default Re: Pretty sure but.........

    Quote Originally Posted by Drift View Post
    Does it matter? The ball was touched.
    maybe, as per Ian's post
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •