Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 86

Thread: Question 2 MAUL

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204

    Default Question 2 MAUL

    OK.
    crossref has suggested a new thread so here it is.
    Following on from my last thread re stopping a PK from going over the crossbar, this one is on the maul.

    QUESTION 2 MAUL

    Team A takes the ball into a maul. Team B "rips" the ball away from Team A within the maul. The maul then goes to ground legally, and the ball is available to be played at the back of the maul, but does not look likely to be played immediately by Team B. Which of the following statements is wrong?

    A) The referee should call for Team B to "Use it!"

    B) Team B has 5 seconds to use the ball after being told to use it by the referee.

    C) If Team B does not use the ball within 5 seconds after being told to use it, the referee awards a scrum to Team B, because Team B did not take the ball into the maul initially.

    D) If Team B does not use the ball within 5 seconds after being told to use it, the referee awards a scrum to Team A, because the ball was not used in time by Team B.


    Single letter answer only please. After we get a few answers, we can go back and ask for a law reference to support your initial answer.
    Cheers
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  2. #2

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NSRS
    Grade
    Newish
    Join Date
    20 Jan 11
    Posts
    1,300

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    All four are "wrong".

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,870

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    C is incorrect
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,512

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    D) is incorrect

    or

    C) is incorrect
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 28-11-15 at 22:11.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    Seeing that I started this thread after originally putting this question in another thread, here are two other answers from that thread (just so we keep track of everyone's answers.

    menace wrote: C is wrong.
    Nigib wrote: What he said

    So that is two votes for C
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  6. #6

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,512

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Seeing that I started this thread after originally putting this question in another thread, here are two other answers from that thread (just so we keep track of everyone's answers.

    menace wrote: C is wrong.
    Nigib wrote: What he said

    So that is two votes for C
    There isn't just one answer, so it 2½ votes for C
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    There isn't just one answer, so it 2½ votes for C
    Will discuss after we get more answers to see what the split is
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,870

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Seeing that I started this thread after originally putting this question in another thread, here are two other answers from that thread (just so we keep track of everyone's answers.

    menace wrote: C is wrong.
    Nigib wrote: What he said

    So that is two votes for C
    counting mine that is 3½ votes for C
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,578
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    D) is incorrect

    or

    C) is incorrect
    You're a referee....you can't hedge your bets?!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  10. #10

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,512

    Default Re: Question 2 MAUL

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    You're a referee....you can't hedge your bets?!

    What I would do in that situation is not necessarily the same as what I would give as an answer to the question.

    If you asked me "What would I do?", the answer would be, I would call "use-it" and if they didn't use it within 5 seconds, I would order a scrum, and give the throw-in to Team B.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 29-11-15 at 03:11.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •