Could someone clarify and cite me the law that dictates if the goal is awarded when a kick taken for points goes directly over the top of the goal post. Is the goal awarded or not?
Could someone clarify and cite me the law that dictates if the goal is awarded when a kick taken for points goes directly over the top of the goal post. Is the goal awarded or not?
i would assume not as if the post was extended it would hit it and (probably) bounce out. You can;t second guess whether it might bounce inside the post...
happy to be told otherwise
didds
The definition for scoring a goal says "between the posts"
I cannot see anything in the laws that deals with the ball passing over the posts, but I believe the posts mark the edge of the goal.
There is no upper limit to the height the ball can be to score, but I believe the it needs to clearly pass inside them.
Agree with #2 and #3.
In the early days it was known as a "poster" and did not count. I don't know of any modern statement on this, but I don't see why it would have changed - anything else would just lead to more uncertainty.
He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
The Referee by John Dryden
Thank heavens chopper doesn't post here any more!
"You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
- Jay Windley
I coulda sworn over the post was law, I must have had in TJ course.
Right now, I can even find that the has to go over the cross bar.
It's in the DefinitionsGoal: A player scores a goal by kicking the ball over an opponents’ crossbar and between the goal posts from the field of play, by a place kick or drop-kick. A goal cannot be scored from a kick-off, drop-out or free kick.
He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
The Referee by John Dryden
Thanks for the input. I wasn't sure on this one and just encountered it this weekend while ARing. I kept the flag down but the official ruled in favor otherwise. If anyone finds any documentation or citation to support a ruling on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
It's right there in the Law.. The ball has to go between the posts. Over the top is not between
I doubt the referee in your case had a different view of the Law, I expect he just had a different view of the flight of the ball
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)