Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    ARLB
    Grade
    New/Ungraded
    Join Date
    11 Sep 06
    Posts
    307

    Default slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    England number 9 is onside and slaps the ball out irish number 9s hands. Hes pinged. Is this ever legal and what law covers it? Thanks

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Netherlands
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    13 Oct 16
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    I *thought* it went forward (but I have not seen a good replay), in which case it is a deliberate knock forward = PK.

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,698

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Doughty View Post
    I *thought* it went forward (but I have not seen a good replay), in which case it is a deliberate knock forward = PK.
    I agree - it went forward

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,775

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    Yes, it was a deliberate knock forward. If it had gone backwards, it would have been okay.

  5. #5
    Administrator davsas's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Berkshire
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    20 Jan 04
    Posts
    42
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    I was under the impression you cannot knock or play the scrum half as he is about to play the ball from the ruck, is this not correct?
    Dave Elliott
    Berkshire Society Referee (L10)
    RugbyRefs.com Administrator
    www.prestigewebdesigns.co.uk

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,027
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    Quote Originally Posted by davsas View Post
    I was under the impression you cannot knock or play the scrum half as he is about to play the ball from the ruck, is this not correct?
    Once the SH has lifted the ball off the floor the ruck is over. He can then be challenged providing the player doing comes from a legal position.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Once the SH has lifted the ball off the floor the ruck is over. He can then be challenged providing the player doing comes from a legal position.
    And there is some inconsistency in the logic applied to the question of a legal position. For me, once the ball is off the floor and the ruck is over, the only people who are prevented from taking an active part in the game are those who were offside at the ruck but whom the ref chose not to punish in the absence of affecting the game. However, there are many instances in TV games where legal ex-ruckers are pinged for some mythical offence of not coming through the middle to impinge on the #9. I don't think we should copy them except where we are clear that the offence preceded the lifting of the ball.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  8. #8

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    Quote Originally Posted by breako View Post
    England number 9 is onside and slaps the ball out irish number 9s hands. Hes pinged. Is this ever legal and what law covers it? Thanks
    Slapping the ball straight down or back is OK. Deliberately slapping the ball forward is not.

    12.1 The outcome of a knock-on or throw forward
    (f) Intentional knock or throw forward. A player must not intentionally knock the ball forward with hand or arm, nor throw forward.
    Sanction: Penalty kick.

    Of course slapping the ball straight down runs the risk of the Ref thinking it was forward and slapping it backwards is very difficult unless you're very close to the BC, and if you're that close you may as well tackle him anyway.

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    Yes, it was a deliberate knock forward. If it had gone backwards, it would have been okay.
    +1.
    Last edited by Taff; 07-04-17 at 19:04.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Feb 17
    Posts
    1,050
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: slappung the ball out of the scrum half hands

    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
    And there is some inconsistency in the logic applied to the question of a legal position. For me, once the ball is off the floor and the ruck is over, the only people who are prevented from taking an active part in the game are those who were offside at the ruck but whom the ref chose not to punish in the absence of affecting the game. However, there are many instances in TV games where legal ex-ruckers are pinged for some mythical offence of not coming through the middle to impinge on the #9. I don't think we should copy them except where we are clear that the offence preceded the lifting of the ball.
    11.8! I am an expert now, don't you know!

    "When a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout forms, a player who is offside and is retiring as required by Law remains offside even when the opposing team wins possession and the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has ended........."

    a player can seek to disrupt the scrum half in any legal attempt to come though the middle as sh is playing the ball but we know from elsewhere he is not part of the ruck and cannot be tackled directly, in the first instance.
    Last edited by ChuckieB; 07-04-17 at 19:04.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •