Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    davsas's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Berkshire
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    20 Jan 04
    Posts
    84
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    The rule states, amount other options that if the ball lands in touch, the PK is in field, 15m in line with where it went into touch. Do this include if the ball goes direct into touch, outside the 22, where the line out would have been brought back to the kicking position, so if the PK here, or upfield opposite where it landed?
    Dave Elliott
    Berkshire Society Referee (L10)
    RugbyRefs.com Administrator
    www.prestigewebdesigns.co.uk

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,187

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Quote Originally Posted by davsas View Post
    The rule states, amount other options that if the ball lands in touch, the PK is in field, 15m in line with where it went into touch. Do this include if the ball goes direct into touch, outside the 22, where the line out would have been brought back to the kicking position, so if the PK here, or upfield opposite where it landed?
    a good question. PK is upfield, adjacent to where the ball crossed the touchline.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  3. #3

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,938

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Don't forget there are 2 options for PK mark.

    The first is easy - it's where the offence happened. The 2nd one is harder as the mark will always be in the "runway" between the two 15m lines and 5 metres out from the goal lines - regardless of where the ball lands. If the ball lands on the "runway" that's your 2nd mark; what can easily catch you out is what happens if the ball goes straight to touch or even directly over the DBL etc. As long as you remember the 2nd mark will always be on the "runway" you won't go far wrong.

    And you would be surprised how many players don't seem to realise there is an option of a 2nd mark.
    Last edited by Taff; 08-05-17 at 22:05.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    New/Ungraded
    Join Date
    15 Jan 08
    Posts
    285

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker


  5. #5

    Referees in England
    davsas's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Berkshire
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    20 Jan 04
    Posts
    84
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Rawlings, on the image above the left one appears to be straight out, but why is the 2nd PK option shown as about 10m back?
    Dave Elliott
    Berkshire Society Referee (L10)
    RugbyRefs.com Administrator
    www.prestigewebdesigns.co.uk

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,806

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Quote Originally Posted by davsas View Post
    Rawlings, on the image above the left one appears to be straight out, but why is the 2nd PK option shown as about 10m back?
    The options should be in line where it crossed the PoT, 15m in field, or where the ball was kicked. The image is trying to show a ball in flight some way above the touch line.

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,560

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    It is a bonkers law, if you think you will not be challenged late you have to aim to bounce the ball into touch - or you do not get gain in ground.
    But if you are challenged you do not get the mark where the ball goes into touch, but where the ball bounces.
    However, if you kick direct to touch you do get all the gain in ground - you also get gain in ground if the ball goes into the in goal - even if it goes directly over the dead ball line.
    However if the ball bounces off the goal posts and back into the field of play, the mark is where the ball lands.

    So if you think you will be challenged late - go for broke but do not hit the posts.

    BTW How late is late?
    If I have kicked and then started running up field with the ball in the air does it apply?
    Does it apply if the ball has landed?

    Or put another way is the law is there just to protect the kicker when they are off balance or to stop the opposition from illegally preventing them putting their team mates on-side?.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,806

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    BTW How late is late?
    If I have kicked and then started running up field with the ball in the air does it apply?
    Does it apply if the ball has landed?

    Or put another way is the law is there just to protect the kicker when they are off balance or to stop the opposition from illegally preventing them putting their team mates on-side?.
    It's there to protect the kicker, I believe. When you've got a leg up in the air you're hardly in a stable position to take a tackle and the majority of the time the kicker is not the player to play team mates on side.

    As to how late is late, a hard and fast rule probably won't help much, but if the kicker has recovered his footing and started taking part in the game again there's a case that it's just obstruction, though unless it was *much* later you'd not have any complaints if you said it was late charging

  9. #9

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,938

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Quote Originally Posted by davsas View Post
    Rawlings, on the image above the left one appears to be straight out, but why is the 2nd PK option shown as about 10m back?
    It isn't. They have just tried to show a 3 dimensional image in 2D.

    The first PK is awarded where the offence happened (the small red arrow above and slightly left of the No 1) and the 2nd PK is 15 metres infield from where the ball went to touch.

  10. #10
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    07 Mar 17
    Posts
    441

    Default Re: 10.4(o) late charging of the kicker

    Surely, it's always the 'most advantageous position' for the kickers team.

    Presumably they have an option to take either position?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •