Just checked the new law book and 17.1a says
Have at least one foot on or behind their own 22-metre line when catching the ball or when landing having caught it in the air.
Just checked the new law book and 17.1a says
Have at least one foot on or behind their own 22-metre line when catching the ball or when landing having caught it in the air.
In American Football you have not completed a catch until both feet are down.
Unfortunately someone decided to go for brevity over clarity in the last revision.
What would you rule if the first foot landed in the field of play, but the second was in touch.
Was the catch completed in the field of play, and hence a mark can bee awarded?
Or did they just take the ball into touch?
Taking the law book and the law trials, it seems to me that you can call a mark catching the ball in the air as long as:
1 the ball has reached the plane of the 22 (law trial)
and 2 at least one foot is on or behind the 22 when you land. For me it does not matter if it is the first foot down or second foot.
I agree
In the real world you won't be in a good position to huge the plane thing
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)