Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 74

Thread: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,132

    Default Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    Looks like "control" is well and truly back

    https://twitter.com/btsportrugby/sta...238998017?s=19

  2. #2
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,111

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    Looks like a correct decision to me!

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    -
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    Looks like a correct decision to me!
    He seems to have satisfied 21.1.b

    21.1 The ball can be grounded in in-goal:

    a. By holding it and touching the ground with it; or

    b. By pressing down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck.


    Case b used to be explicitly for a ball on the ground (in 2017 at least)- no mention of that now, which surprised me!

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,132

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    The current law was the same in 2018 and 2017 Law books

    Here is Nigel Owen explaining ..
    I am sure that what NO says in line with current guidance e



    http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread....hlight=Control
    Last edited by crossref; 05-01-19 at 18:01.

  5. #5

    Referees in Ireland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    25 May 16
    Posts
    527

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    Ball looks lost forward to me .

    Had a similar decision my self today , except it was under posts .
    Defenders suggesting knocked on .
    But i wasnt in agreement . & awarded try .

    If i had tmo , i could of took a look .
    Couldnt see any reasons not to award try .
    So i awarded try .

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    -
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    The current law was the same in 2018 and 2017 Law books
    Of course the laws are the same, the wording is just different

    2017 wording:
    There are two ways a player can ground the ball:
    (a) Player touches the ground with the ball. A player grounds the ball by holding the ball and
    touching the ground with it, in in-goal. ‘Holding’ means holding in the hand or hands, or in
    the arm or arms. No downward pressure is required.
    (b) Player presses down on the ball. A player grounds the ball when it is on the ground in the
    in-goal and the player presses down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of
    the player’s body from waist to neck inclusive.


    Under 2017 wording, you can argue that Olowofela is no longer holding the ball, and it wasn't already on the ground, so must be a knock-on, as given.

    Under the 2019 (2018 too?) you can argue Olowofela presses the ball all the way down to the ground.

    What would be given if Olowofela had run around the defenders, seeking a better kicking position, and was moving towards his own dead ball line when he touched down in the same manner?

  7. #7
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,111

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post

    What would be given if Olowofela had run around the defenders, seeking a better kicking position, and was moving towards his own dead ball line when he touched down in the same manner?
    Presumably that wouldn't /couldn't be seen as a knock on and the try would have been awarded!

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    24 Nov 18
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    From the replay from the touchline it looks lost forward but the overhead replay it looks like he maintains contact. Tough one for the tmo but impossible on real time. It happened so quick that without a replay I would say try.

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,132

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    He maintained contact, but he was no longer holding it
    - so no try under 21.a as he was wasn't holding it (the TMO says he no longer has control)
    - no try under 21.b as 21.b is interpreted as applying to a ball on the ground, and/or he wasn't really pressing down on it



    21.1 The ball can be grounded in in-goal:

    a. By holding it and touching the ground with it; or

    b. By pressing down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck.

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London
    Grade
    Level 6+1
    Join Date
    08 Nov 07
    Posts
    3,431

    Default Re: Control , again .. Leicester v Gloucester

    His aim was to ground the ball - he achieved that aim as he intended - how has he lost control?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •