Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Arbitro Effettivo
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    76
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    Hello everyone,

    sorry If i ask two different questions in one thread but I'd like not to spam.

    Questions:


    1. If the ball goes out of the perimeter area, is a quick throw still allowed? (Assuming it bounces back or one player goes out to fetch it). Can you provide examples (videos or documents)?
    2. I' m awarded a penalty kick, can I use a different ball to take the PK?Can you provide examples (videos or documents)?


    I hope i didn't ask questions already asked (couldn't find anything).

    Thank you all

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,460

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    1) Yes - subject to the usual caveats.

    2) They should use the ball in play, unless the ref deems it defective. For example, kicker discovers it is soft, they should ask you before changing.

    If the ball was just hoofed into the trees/river - I am not going to hold up play while the club president wanders after it, or finds a child to do so.

    But, even though the other side has just infringed, you should not let the kicking side gain an undue advantage by changing ball.

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,701

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    For me
    1 it depends , if a ball hit a tree and bounces back I would allow a QTI . If a player has to dig the ball out of a ditch I wouldnt let him mosey back to the touchline and sneakily QTI

    2 I definitely would not allow a quick tap with a fresh ball
    I would be reluctant to allow a kick at goal with a fresh ball

    But otherwise if the 9 said this ball is rubbish, can we go back to using the first one, I can see they threw it back over the fence to us . Look , there it is..

    I would say yes

  4. #4

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Arbitro Effettivo
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    76
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    Thank you!

  5. #5

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    562

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    At the level I referee at the home team is supposed to have 3 balls available. So if the original ball is not available following the penalty (for example penalty for a late charge at the kicker after they've hoofed it into a river) I'm going for a new ball. If a penalty for say late tackle, in at the side etc. then they are using the same ball subject to earlier caveats about identifying a defect in it.

  6. #6

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Arbitro Effettivo
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    76
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    I just found that that in Italy If the ball goes out of the perimeter area, a quick throw is not allowed.
    A clarification has been made in 2016/17....I missed it, sorry.
    Last edited by cccref; 03-02-19 at 17:02.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,701

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    Quote Originally Posted by cccref View Post
    I just found that that in Italy If the ball goes out of the perimeter area, a quick throw is not allowed.
    A clarification has been made in 2016/17....I missed it, sorry.
    Hi ccref - that's interestng : do you have a link to the clarification ? or can you just copy and paste the text of it?

  8. #8

    Referees in Italy
    cccref's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CN Arbitri Rugby
    Grade
    Arbitro Effettivo
    Join Date
    12 Dec 16
    Posts
    76
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Hi ccref - that's interestng : do you have a link to the clarification ? or can you just copy and paste the text of it?
    This is the link, in italian:
    https://www.federugby.it/index.php?o...896&Itemid=314

    Text (it includes also law 20):

    CIRCOLARE INFORMATIVA 06 / 2016 - 2017
    CHIARIMENTO
    Regola 19 – TOUCH e RIMESSA LATERALE
    Regola 20 - MISCHIA
    La presente circolare riporta dei chiarimenti alle Regole di Gioco al fine di migliorare e uniformare le linee guida che devono seguire arbitri e assistenti arbitrali nel loro operato durante la gara.
    Regola 19.2 – RIMESSA IN GIOCO RAPIDA DEL PALLONE
    Una rimessa in gioco rapida non sarà concessa se il pallone viene calciato o va oltre i manufatti che delimitano e definiscono il recinto di gioco.
    Regola 20.6 – COME IL MEDIANO DI MISCHIA INTRODUCE IL PALLONE
    Il mediano di mischia per introdurre il pallone può spostarsi leggermente di lato rispetto alla propria prima linea in modo che, comunque, una sua spalla rimanga all’altezza della linea mediana tra le prime linee.
    In questa situazione il pallone dovrà essere assolutamente introdotto diritto e parallelo rispetto alla linea mediana tra le prime linee.
    Regola 20.12 – FUORI-GIOCO NELLA MISCHIA
    Il mediano di mischia della squadra che non ha vinto il possesso del pallone all’introduzione deve rimanere con entrambi i suoi piedi dietro il pallone, non può seguire la progressione posizionandosi tra il flanker e il No. 8 e non si deve allontanare dalla mischia.
    Nel caso si ritiri, la sua linea di fuori-gioco passa attraverso il piede più arretrato dell’ultimo giocatore in mischia della sua squadra; in questa posizione può anche allontanarsi dalla mischia quanto vuole, da una linea di touch all’altra.
    30 settembre 2016
    C.N.Ar. Gruppo Tecnico Arbitrale
    Translation of the interested part:

    Rule 19.2 - Quick Throw:
    A quick throw-in will not be granted if the ball is kicked or goes beyond the artifacts that demarcate and define the perimeter area.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    1,921

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    May I ask from where did that clarification come?

  10. #10

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,750

    Default Re: Questions about quick line out and penalty kick

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    May I ask from where did that clarification come?
    INFORMATION CIRCULAR 06/2016 - 2017 EXPLANATION Rule 19 - TOUCH and QUICK THROW-IN
    This circular contains clarifications to the Rules of the Game in order to improve and standardise the guidelines that referees and ARs must follow during a game.
    [...]
    C.N.Ar. Arbitration Technical Group
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •