
Originally Posted by
Decorily
Mich, you seem to be of the opinion that tacklers can still play the ball from the direction of their own goal line after regaining their feet. This is incorrect.
Yeah. I remember we used to rule that way last year with a trial rule - tacklers also need to reenter from the gate or alike. The 2019 law seems not written in that way.
Before:
14-6. Tacklers may play the ball from any direction provided they have complied with the
above responsibilities and a ruck has not formed.
(2018)
After:
14-6. Tacklers may play the ball from the direction of their own goal line provided they have
complied with the above responsibilities and a ruck has not formed.
(2019)
This is different from:
14-8c. Other players must arrive at the tackle from the direction of their own goal line before playing the ball.
(2018 and 2019)
2019 law doesn't require a tackler to reenter from the gate. It just prohibits tacklers to play from the other side.
I was not aware till it was told by my colleagues... ;-> Correct me if this interpretation is wrong.