Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Mark from a penalty

      
  1. #21
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    ex-Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    Another clarification on the subject of marks: does a defender inside the 22 have the option of making a mark when directly catching a knock on / throw forward by an attacker? I'm sure this used to be the case but can't remember seeing an instance in either my playing or refereeing days.

  2. #22
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,457

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    In the current law book you can only mark a kick by the opposition.
    And I belive that has been the case for as long as I remember.

  3. #23

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,749

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    It was only in 1992 that the right to make a Fair Catch from a knock-on or throw forward was removed from the Laws.

    I had no idea that happened so late. I started playing in 1949 and do not remember ever seeing a Fair Catch from a knock-on.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,701

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    Only on rugbyrefs could there be an argument over the quality of eachothers mnomics

  5. #25

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    Quote Originally Posted by Huck2Spit View Post
    So a mark can be awarded/called from a attempted drop goal that goes short...? What about an attempt DG that bounces off posts and is caught cleanly by non kicking team?
    Yes, you can call a mark if the ball ricochets off a post. In fact I'm pretty sure it happened in the recent Scotland v France RWC warm up game.

    Quote Originally Posted by timmad View Post
    Another clarification on the subject of marks: does a defender inside the 22 have the option of making a mark when directly catching a knock on / throw forward by an attacker? I'm sure this used to be the case but can't remember seeing an instance in either my playing or refereeing days.
    It may have been the case donkeys years ago but not now. These days, you can only claim a mark from an opponents kick.

  6. #26
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,457

    Default Re: Mark from a penalty

    It is in the laws
    17.2; A player may claim a mark even if the ball hits a goal post or crossbar before being caught.
    You can also claim a mark in the in-goal.
    It does not say you cannot claim a mark after the ball has passed through the posts.
    Hopefully no ref has been confused by a defender claiming a mark after a drop goal.
    Last edited by Camquin; 11-11-19 at 19:11.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •