A big yep to the second part as "far back as I can remember". Maybe we were wrong, or at least wrong since the 10m law came in.
Here is an important thing to consider.
In order to PK under the 10M law, you have to know where the ball is going to land or be caught or fielded by the opponent (because that is the reference point from where you measure the 10M), and you have to know that before the ball is touched by the Green player, because as soon as he does, everyone downfield is onside. How do you know that Black 7 was not 11m on his own side of where the ball would have landed had it not been touched in flight?
To blow for offside under the 10M, you would have to blow your whistle after the ball is kicked, and before the Green player touches it.
Last edited by Ian_Cook; 23-08-20 at 22:08.
"You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
- Jay Windley
Considered, but not enough to unclog my brain. The ball, despite being tipped, is going to come down or be caught and this will establish the 10m line. As far as I know there is no time constraint on when the whistle must be blown and that the only determination of 10m would be where it lands or is caught.
No, because once the ball is touched in flight, there is no longer any offside (except, of course for any of HIS team-mates between he and the opponents goal-line)
There is no time constraint, but there is a constraint of circumstances.
First, a player downfield is not offside under the 10M law until a team-mate kicks the ball.
Second, you can't rule a player downfield as offside until you have an idea where the ball is going to land because you have no reference point from which to measure the 10M. If you do, then you are guessing!
I think the intent was to make sure that a player catching or attempting to field the ball would not put an opponent onside. IMO, this is another example of (surprise, surprise) badly worded law.
Its the first time I've ever seen it questioned. For mine, that try was legit all day long, because that is how the Law has always been interpreted, at least as long as I have played and refereed the game, and understood the Law - touched in flight is "play on"
There is, and always has been, a difference between what the Laws say, and what they mean!
Last edited by Ian_Cook; 24-08-20 at 02:08.
"You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
- Jay Windley
I cannot find the law that indicates once the ball is in flight, there is no longer 10m law. The 10m law is an exception from the 2 areas of law we have already quoted. The only remote definition of a chargedown is in law11, and in chargedown picture. Both indicate a forward and down direction of the ball.
pick the bones out of this:
https://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=...arification=81
I, for one, like Roman numerals
"2. If the ball is not charged down but is played or touches an opposition player and a player from the kicker’s side is within the 10 metre area in front of the kick that player is liable to penalty in accordance with Law 11.4(f).
"You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
- Jay Windley
The clarification seems to be saying that was not a chargedown and so Itoje was caught by the 10m and should have been PK
This Law needs a rewrite
Nope, that is not what it says at all. Read it again
"2. If the ball is not charged down but is played or touches an opposition player and a player from the kicker’s side is within the 10 metre area in front of the kick that player is liable to penalty in accordance with Law 11.4(f)."
"You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
- Jay Windley
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)