If I've got it right. If there is a charge down attempt the 10 mtr rule does not apply. Nor does Offiside in open play.
HOWEVER,
If the ball is merely "touched in flight." Open play offside does not apply but the 10 metre rules does.
If I've got it right. If there is a charge down attempt the 10 mtr rule does not apply. Nor does Offiside in open play.
HOWEVER,
If the ball is merely "touched in flight." Open play offside does not apply but the 10 metre rules does.
Last edited by Marc Wakeham; 29-08-20 at 17:08.
Last edited by Not Kurt Weaver; 29-08-20 at 18:08.
I think that is correct .. but it leads the question of what is the definition of a chargedown , and how is a charge down any different from a touch in flight ?
My view is that any sort of touch just after the kick is a chargedown, so 10m law doesn't apply
But when the ball is fumbled on landing, then 10m law still applies
Last edited by crossref; 29-08-20 at 19:08.
I'm sure that someone will ask you to define "just after".
If they don't, I will!
Perhaps an alternative rule of thumb could be: touched in the first half of its initial trajectory = treat as a charge-down; touched as it is dropping from its flight apex = 10m offside law applies.
Be reasonable - do it my way.
How about?
1. When a player attempts to block a kick and makes contact with the ball, that is a charge down, Offside Laws (including 10M) do not apply.
2. When a player attempts to catch the ball from a kick and makes contact with the ball but fails to catch , that is touched in flight (10M Law applies).
"You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
- Jay Windley
Wasn't there some kind of clarification many moons ago that touching the ball on its way UP was a charge down, and touching it on its way DOWN wasn't?
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)