Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 61

Thread: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

      
  1. #41
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,064

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    If I've got it right. If there is a charge down attempt the 10 mtr rule does not apply. Nor does Offiside in open play.


    HOWEVER,

    If the ball is merely "touched in flight." Open play offside does not apply but the 10 metre rules does.
    Last edited by Marc Wakeham; 29-08-20 at 16:08.

  2. #42

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,254
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    If I've got it right. If there is a charge down attempt the 10 mtr rule does not apply. Nor does Offiside in open play.


    HOWEVER,

    If the ball is merely "touched in flight." Open play offside does not apply but the 10 metre rules does.
    That is what I concluded and what I think what is written in law, BUT I do not think others on rugbyrefs agree.


    EDIT maybe we are not similar, I would say the chargedown has to occur (forward and/or downward) not merely an attempt
    Last edited by Not Kurt Weaver; 29-08-20 at 17:08.

  3. #43

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,003

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    If I've got it right. If there is a charge down attempt the 10 mtr rule does not apply. Nor does Offiside in open play.


    HOWEVER,

    If the ball is merely "touched in flight." Open play offside does not apply but the 10 metre rules does.
    I think that is correct .. but it leads the question of what is the definition of a chargedown , and how is a charge down any different from a touch in flight ?

    My view is that any sort of touch just after the kick is a chargedown, so 10m law doesn't apply
    But when the ball is fumbled on landing, then 10m law still applies
    Last edited by crossref; 29-08-20 at 18:08.

  4. #44

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,101

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    I'm sure that someone will ask you to define "just after".

    If they don't, I will!

    Perhaps an alternative rule of thumb could be: touched in the first half of its initial trajectory = treat as a charge-down; touched as it is dropping from its flight apex = 10m offside law applies.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  5. #45

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,254
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    I'm sure that someone will ask you to define "just after".

    If they don't, I will!

    Perhaps an alternative rule of thumb could be: touched in the first half of its initial trajectory = treat as a charge-down; touched as it is dropping from its flight apex = 10m offside law applies.
    kicks can be made in line drive fashion, apex hard to determine

  6. #46

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,254
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I think that is correct .. but it leads the question of what is the definition of a chargedown , and how is a charge down any different from a touch in flight ?
    Unfortunately a charge down is ( ) parathesized and described in law 11

  7. #47

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,522

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    How about?

    1. When a player attempts to block a kick and makes contact with the ball, that is a charge down, Offside Laws (including 10M) do not apply.

    2. When a player attempts to catch the ball from a kick and makes contact with the ball but fails to catch , that is touched in flight (10M Law applies).
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

  8. #48

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,106
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Wasn't there some kind of clarification many moons ago that touching the ball on its way UP was a charge down, and touching it on its way DOWN wasn't?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #49

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,003

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    How about?

    1. When a player attempts to block a kick and makes contact with the ball, that is a charge down, Offside Laws (including 10M) do not apply.

    2. When a player attempts to catch the ball from a kick and makes contact with the ball but fails to catch , that is touched in flight (10M Law applies).
    I would be tempted to say "block or deflect" .. to cover the sort of action in this thread

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Not Kurt Weaver View Post
    Unfortunately a charge down is ( ) parathesized and described in law 11
    Only in the context of not being a knock on if it goes forward

  10. #50

    Referees in America
    Not Kurt Weaver's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Ohio
    Grade
    C3
    Join Date
    11 Sep 08
    Posts
    2,254
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Why isn't this offisde under 10m law ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post

    Only in the context of not being a knock on if it goes forward
    It is a reference. What is your reference? , "Everybody knows"

    It called a charge"down", hence what happens to the ball as down.

    No good, but what r u hanging ur hat upon?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •