Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: All blacks third try tackled or not?

      
  1. #21

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,506

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Ok, I think we all agree that he was held and should have released the ball. however understandable close call at full speed by the team of three and fair to play on.
    Could the fourth official have intervened to ask the ref to check once the try had been awarded or could the check only take place if the ref asked for a check?
    Ciaran Trainor

  2. #22

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,531

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    Ok, I think we all agree that he was held and should have released the ball.
    indeed!

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    ...however understandable close call at full speed by the team of three and fair to play on.
    Agree

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    Could the fourth official have intervened to ask the ref to check once the try had been awarded or could the check only take place if the ref asked for a check?
    Yes. The TMO checks every try scoring play, even if awarded by the referee, and he can go back to anything in the lead up that happens up to and before the last phase (scrum/maul/ruck/tackle thingy) before the try was scored, and up to but not before the phase before this. This is what happened with the disallowed try at the end of the first half of the first test when Black 11 dropped the ball over the line.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 20-10-20 at 21:10.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

  3. #23

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,048

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    indeed!



    Agree



    Yes. The TMO checks every try scoring play, even if awarded by the referee, and he can go back to anything in the lead up that happens up to and before the last phase (scrum/maul/ruck/tackle thingy) before the try was scored, and up to but not before the phase before this. This is what happened with the disallowed try at the end of the first half of the first test when Black 11 dropped the ball over the line.
    so the foot on touchline in first Test was possibly seen by TMO but it was too far back to call?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #24

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,531

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    so the foot on touchline in first Test was possibly seen by TMO but it was too far back to call?
    IIRC there was only one tackle after that before the try, so no, it could have been called back. As to why it wasn't, you'd have to ask the TMO.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

  5. #25

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,022

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    IIRC there was only one tackle after that before the try, so no, it could have been called back. As to why it wasn't, you'd have to ask the TMO.
    Perhaps it’s to do with the TMO protocol about only allowing intervention if something is clear and obvious?

    A side issue. I have logged on this morning and the forum has now got all its buttons/links in Spanish! Not a problem for me as many of you know but wondered if anybody else has the issue. I assure you I have not hacked the site! For example, to respond and include quote is now ‘ citar y responder’.

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,063

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Perhaps it’s to do with the TMO protocol about only allowing intervention if something is clear and obvious?

    A side issue. I have logged on this morning and the forum has now got all its buttons/links in Spanish! Not a problem for me as many of you know but wondered if anybody else has the issue. I assure you I have not hacked the site! For example, to respond and include quote is now ‘ citar y responder’.
    Qué??

  7. #27

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,022

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Well I’ve just logged out and closed my browser and then searched for the website and reloaded from there and now everything is okay. Strange. Is there a button somewhere that I may have pressed accidentally to chose Spanish as the language?

  8. #28

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,063

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Yes, bottom left

  9. #29
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,522

    Default Re: All blacks third try tackled or not?

    Sounds like a black mark for the Assistant referee in the debreif.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •