Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: when is a throw forward not a throw forward?

      
  1. #1

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,116

    Default when is a throw forward not a throw forward?

    In another thread there was a point being discussed regarding kicking being a clear transgression of the laws,...

    here - actually
    https://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread...l=1#post371808


    I can see where OB is going with that.

    The crux presumably being that if the player released the ball in the same manner but did nothing with a foot (ie did NOT kick it) and the ball hit the ground would we expect a ref to ignore it/play on, or penalise it - either with a knock-on (scrum) or a deliberate throw forward (PK potentially).

    And the same for an attempted kick where the ball is thrown forward in order to kick, and attempt is made to kick it but the foot totally misses. what then?

    Or the ball is thrown forward, an attempt to kick is begun but a tackle prevents the kick connecting. what then?

    Now - I canpretty much live with whatver you chaps decide each of these scenarios mean.

    But it seems someone odd nonetheless to possibly have differing outcomes depending on a secondary action which may or may not even be voluntary. Schroedinger's kick?

    In these terms of course "thrown forward/knocked on" includes the ball dropped vertcially as after all that is how we see knock-ons called very often eg base of a ruck pickup from a very low position... so lets not get embroiled in nuances over whether directly vertically is forward or not. its clear it is blown that way.

    didds
    Last edited by didds; 3 Weeks Ago at 15:10.

  2. #2

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,748

    Default Re: when is a throw forward not a throw forward?

    It is worth pointing out that if a player is about to kick but gets tackled just after he releases the ball but before he can get a boot to it, it is fairly standard for the referee to call it a knock-on.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,364

    Default Re: when is a throw forward not a throw forward?

    Dropping the ball and missing the kick, knock on. tackled before the kick can connect, knock on.

    Obviously fumbling and spilling the ball forward accidentally, and flinging a wild foot out that connects with the toe... also a knock on.

    So it seems to me that the default is that it's a knock on, and we ignore that if an intentional kick is successfully made.

  4. #4
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,009

    Default Re: when is a throw forward not a throw forward?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post

    So it seems to me that the default is that it's a knock on, and we ignore that if an intentional kick is successfully made.
    Well surely the operative word is 'intentional'!

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,116

    Default Re: when is a throw forward not a throw forward?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    It is worth pointing out that if a player is about to kick but gets tackled just after he releases the ball but before he can get a boot to it, it is fairly standard for the referee to call it a knock-on.
    Yup. And we saw that in the england v italy game today

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •