Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: deliberate into touch after knock-on

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default deliberate into touch after knock-on

    I thought this was interesting in France v Ireland game in 10th minute.

    Green knock ball forward then Blue deliberately knock ball into touch. Decision was penalty & YC.

    What makes it interesting for me is that as soon as Blue touched the ball we had a Green knock-on and, effectively, advantage to Blue. So anything that happens after that (barring a punch or similar) will either be advantage over or a Blue scrum.

    Except, of course, deliberate into touch is foul play so that out trumps the knock on.


    Law 7.2.c: The non-offending team commits an infringement before they have gained an advantage. The referee stops the game and applies the sanction for the first infringement. If either or both infringements are for foul play, the referee applies the appropriate sanction(s) for the offence(s)


    PS: Wayne Barnes missed last weekend's Gallagher final due to contracting covid and a short week later he is reffing a Test match. Amazing. I would have thought he'd be in a couple of weeks isolation.
    Last edited by Dickie E; 31-10-20 at 23:10.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    -
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    400

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I thought this was interesting in France v Ireland game in 10th minute.

    Green knock ball forward then Blue deliberately knock ball into touch. Decision was penalty & YC.

    What makes it interesting for me is that as soon as Blue touched the ball we had a Green knock-on and, effectively, advantage to Blue. So anything that happens after that (barring a punch or similar) will either be advantage over or a Blue scrum.

    Except, of course, deliberate into touch is foul play so that out trumps the knock on.


    Law 7.2.c: The non-offending team commits an infringement before they have gained an advantage. The referee stops the game and applies the sanction for the first infringement. If either or both infringements are for foul play, the referee applies the appropriate sanction(s) for the offence(s)


    PS: Wayne Barnes missed last weekend's Gallagher final due to contracting covid and a short week later he is reffing a Test match. Amazing. I would have thought he'd be in a couple of weeks isolation.
    Harsh call - green deliberately knocked it forward, one could argue

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,370

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Green was juggling ..

  4. #4
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    Harsh call - green deliberately knocked it forward, one could argue
    I didn't see it as green knocking it forward deliberately or otherwise.
    No more so than if he had been juggling to control a ball at chest height etc.
    Possibly when I see a replay I'll change my view.

    Edit.....I am Irish though! !

  5. #5
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Green was juggling ..
    Yes....I think we agree

  6. #6

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,370

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Yes green was juggling, blue could have simply tackled him

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    my point here is, while law 7 says foul play, do they really mean dangerous play?

    Consider. White knock the ball on, Black gather and ref calls "knock on, advantage Black". While running the ball Black run an obstruction line and ref blows whistle. Does the ref go with scrum Black, no advantage or penalty White for the foul play of obstruction?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    my point here is, while law 7 says foul play, do they really mean dangerous play?
    The term 'foul play ' is widely misunderstood and often misused.
    I think generally when it is used iit is meant to mean 'dangerous play'.

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    The term 'foul play ' is widely misunderstood and often misused.
    I think generally when it is used iit is meant to mean 'dangerous play'.
    Does that mean that you think that Barnes made the wrong decision?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: deliberate into touch after knock-on

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Does that mean that you think that Barnes made the wrong decision?
    No, not at all.
    I'm simply referring to my experience of the use of the term 'foul play'.

    Edit....my real time impression was that it should have been a penalty try. I've seen one replay and saw nothing in that one replay to change my mind.
    Last edited by Decorily; 01-11-20 at 20:11.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •