Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Netherlands
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    13 Oct 16
    Posts
    20

    Default Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    When I watched last weeks France v Ireland game I thought that the first French try should have been disallowed.
    It looked to me that the French winger who was chasing the ball jumped when already in touch, hit the ball back in-field and then landed in touch.
    At the time I said "Line-out !!"


    I've eventually found a video clip and I think I am correct.


    https://youtu.be/54KI-N_hQRg?t=505


    Freeze this with 6:04 on the match clock and you see the wingers foot on the line before he jumps.
    Then freeze at 6:06 on the clock and he lands in touch.


    Difficult call (and much easier to do as an armchair referee), but I'm surprised that this was missed.
    Last edited by Martin Doughty; 03-11-20 at 21:11.

  2. #2
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,111

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    [QUOTE=Martin Doughty;371877
    .... hit the ball back in-field ...../QUOTE]

    I think this is the relevant bit!!

    Edit....and of course the plane of touch is relevant.

    Can't view the video for some reason.
    Last edited by Decorily; 03-11-20 at 22:11.

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,082

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    I saw the incident and agree that the jumper commenced and finished in touch. The problem is that it is not clear if the ball had crossed plane of touch. On balance of probability and looking at the jumper's body position, I would imagine that ball had crossed plane but can't be certain.

    The best camera angle to show this would have been from head on which was not shown (maybe the French TV director didn't want to bother Wayne with such trifling matters )
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,536

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    If we cannot determine whether the ball is in touch with a team of four - what hope does the solo referee on the back pitch have.

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,827

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I saw the incident and agree that the jumper commenced and finished in touch. The problem is that it is not clear if the ball had crossed plane of touch. On balance of probability and looking at the jumper's body position, I would imagine that ball had crossed plane but can't be certain.

    The best camera angle to show this would have been from head on which was not shown (maybe the French TV director didn't want to bother Wayne with such trifling matters )
    Or maybe such an angle was not available? It is certainly the crucial point.
    18.2.d
    • The ball is not in touch or touch-in-goal if:
      • [...]
      • A player, who is in touch, kicks or knocks the ball, but does not hold it, provided it has not reached the plane of touch.

    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Skids's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    RAFRURS
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 10
    Posts
    326

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    Looks to me like the French jumper touched the ball then touched an Irish player who was in the field of play then went back into touch? It looks like he does to me but would this mean that he is in the field of play due to touching the Irish player before he then went out again?

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,114

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    this is a poor law (IMO) we should take out the plane - which is hard to judge - and base call on the player's feet (easier to see) ..

    my proposed law would allow the knock back provided that the player either started, or finished, in the FoP (or both) and disregard the plane.

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,420

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    seems eminently sensible to me CR

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,082

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Or maybe such an angle was not available? It is certainly the crucial point.
    maybe but it became available seconds later as the backline move led to a French try
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,827

    Default Re: Frances first try against Ireland - Should we have gone back for a lineout?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    this is a poor law (IMO) we should take out the plane - which is hard to judge - and base call on the player's feet (easier to see) ..

    my proposed law would allow the knock back provided that the player either started, or finished, in the FoP (or both) and disregard the plane.
    1885
    A player may be in touch and play the ball, provided it is not in touch.
    .I acknowledge that judging the plane is tricky, particularly at grassroots. However we have been playing under this law for a long time and I don't remember any significant problems. Maybe the benefits (keeping play going) outweigh the downside?
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •