Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: charge down

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,162

    Default charge down

    From the NZ v Arg game.

    Blue attempt a drop goal. A Black defender attempts to charge down, getting a finger tip to the ball, deflects the ball so that it misses posts but goes over DBL.

    What is the correct restart?

    A clue: has Black "taken" the ball into in-goal by intentionally attempting a charge down?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,239

    Default Re: charge down

    I would give a 5m attacking scrum, ie to blue, as black was last to play the ball

    What was actually given ?

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,162

    Default Re: charge down

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I would give a 5m attacking scrum, ie to blue, as black was last to play the ball

    What was actually given ?
    with no hesitation ... 22 drop out

    02:13 on the game clock:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeDcssYXt64
    Last edited by Dickie E; 17-11-20 at 09:11.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: charge down

    On the grounds that if a ball was touched in flight following a kick and then goes into touch I would give the throw to the kicking side I would give the 5m attacking scrum here. The touch by Black was intentional, and they would expect to gain if the charge down had been successful and so it seems a risk and reward scenario. Having not seen the footage I bet the ref awarded a 22m drop out though.

  5. #5

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: charge down

    Ive just watched the footage and AG gave the 22. It seems to me though that they gave it because the deflection wasn't C&O which is fair enough.

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,474

    Default Re: charge down

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    From the NZ v Arg game.

    Blue attempt a drop goal. A Black defender attempts to charge down, getting a finger tip to the ball, deflects the ball so that it misses posts but goes over DBL.

    What is the correct restart?

    A clue: has Black "taken" the ball into in-goal by intentionally attempting a charge down?


    Havent we been here before - about a million times?

    Some will argue its a scrum 5m as last person to touch the ball was a defender
    Some will argue its a 22m drop out as the wording is "played the ball" which insinuates a deliberate action, and they will claim whilst its a deliberate attempt to play the ball it was not a deliberate attempt to put the ball in goal.
    Some will just lose the will to live as the debate goes around and around in circles with nobody changing their position, for several weeks until something else gets repeated as attention moves to that instead.


    My 2p? 5m attaching scrum and sell it.

    NEXT!

    didds

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,474

    Default Re: charge down

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    with no hesitation ... 22 drop out

    02:13 on the game clock:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeDcssYXt64
    well, except that no black touched the ball. It misses Smith easily.

    so its a 22 drop out cos blue kicked it dead with a DG attempt.

    end of. as normal.

  8. #8

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,474

    Default Re: charge down

    Quote Originally Posted by Jz558 View Post
    Ive just watched the footage and AG gave the 22. It seems to me though that they gave it because the deflection wasn't C&O which is fair enough.
    well AG clearly says the ball missed him. So there wasnt even debate over a deflection - the To3/4 between them very qickly identified it never even got close to be debated.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeDcssYXt64&t=218 ie 218 seconds into the YT video onwards

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,162

    Default Re: charge down

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Havent we been here before - about a million times?

    Some will argue its a scrum 5m as last person to touch the ball was a defender
    Some will argue its a 22m drop out as the wording is "played the ball" which insinuates a deliberate action, and they will claim whilst its a deliberate attempt to play the ball it was not a deliberate attempt to put the ball in goal.
    Some will just lose the will to live as the debate goes around and around in circles with nobody changing their position, for several weeks until something else gets repeated as attention moves to that instead.


    My 2p? 5m attaching scrum and sell it.

    NEXT!

    didds
    Gee. Iso stress?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,474

    Default Re: charge down

    que?

    ISO?

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •