Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: PK after the try - with a difference

      
  1. #21

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,101

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by timmad View Post
    If we accept that, because a penalty has been awarded, play in the first half should continue after the conversion - what would be the location of the penalty?
    As the ball was dead (but the half is not up) where play would re-start after a conversion - at the centre.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  2. #22
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    ex-Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    As the ball was dead (but the half is not up) where play would re-start after a conversion - at the centre.
    Could the non-offending team opt to kick to touch and, if so, would time be allowed for a line-out?

  3. #23
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by timmad View Post
    Could the non-offending team opt to kick to touch and, if so, would time be allowed for a line-out?
    Yes and yes.
    The lineout MUST be taken if the ball is kicked directly to touch.

  4. #24

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,101

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by timmad View Post
    Could the non-offending team opt to kick to touch and, if so, would time be allowed for a line-out?
    What Law would prevent them doing so? It is a normal PK, after time has elapsed.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  5. #25
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    ex-Manchester & District
    Grade
    Level 10
    Join Date
    04 Apr 12
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    What Law would prevent them doing so? It is a normal PK, after time has elapsed.
    Just confirming.

  6. #26
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    -
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    No disrespect intended to Treadmore.
    Apologies if taken as so.

    However it seems to me to be the equivalent to a fight breaking out in the bar after the game and asking should the referee bring players back on the pitch to deal with it! !

    Edit....I'm sure Treadmore can respond for himself/herself!
    Indeed I can.

    FWIW I disagree with your equivalence. Was just using an example to see if we can end up with inconsistencies.

  7. #27
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    Indeed I can.

    FWIW I disagree with your equivalence. Was just using an example to see if we can end up with inconsistencies.
    I'm not clear as to what your point is...maybe it's that 2nd bottle of wine!

  8. #28

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,004

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    let's consider a simpler event.

    In 41st minute of 1st half Red knock-on and Blue gain no advantage.

    1. As ref is bringing whistle to lips to blow for no-side, Blue player punches Red player. After cards, etc, what should the ref do?
    a. award PK to Red at place of foul play, or
    b. award PK to Red at place game would have restarted (ie where knock on occurred), or
    c. blow no-side and recommence 2nd half with PK to Red, or
    d. blow no-side and recommence 2nd half normally.

    2. Ref has blown no-side and as players are leaving the ground for half time, Blue player punches Red player. After cards, etc, what should the ref do?
    a. award PK to Red at place of foul play, or
    b. award PK to Red at place game would have restarted (ie where knock on occurred), or
    c. recommence 2nd half with PK to Red, or
    d. recommence 2nd half normally.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #29

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    1. a
    2. c

  10. #30

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,101

    Default Re: PK after the try - with a difference

    Quote Originally Posted by Jz558 View Post
    1. a
    2. c
    Agreed
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •