Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Player on ground catching the ball

      
  1. #11
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,095

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Law 13.3
    Yes....

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,153

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Law 13.3b
    There we go then, still there, penalty as I thought - not sure if there’s a question about materiality, any red players close? Comments about spectacle rugby still stand though hence why I suspect it was allowed.

  3. #13

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,008

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    I assume you are not suggesting that refs should let things go just to ensure there is a spectacle?

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,008

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    There we go then, still there, penalty as I thought - not sure if there’s a question about materiality, any red players close? Comments about spectacle rugby still stand though hence why I suspect it was allowed.
    Well Liam Williams was right next to him on the floor and was making an effort to get to his feet as his first action, which is what Curry should have been doing. I’ve no doubt LW would have been pinged if he had flicked the ball up as it came down. At 38.09 on game clock you can actually see that the ball was caught, held for a moment and and then passed. (Incident starts at 37.35.)

  5. #15

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,992

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnP View Post
    In today’s Wales vs England game, Curry charged down a Welsh clearing kick and in the process fell to the ground. The ball looped up and while on the ground he caught it and passed it to another english player. Because he is on the ground is he not ‘out of the game’ until he regains his feet? Sanction penalty to Wales?
    Purely curious.
    Thanks.
    yes I noticed- and it's a PK

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,992

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebra1922 View Post
    ah but is it? There are some who state it is not clear a player can’t play the ball in this scenario.


    I’m not one of them but even here the law is not unambiguous.
    There was some ambiguity prior to the rewrite, but since 2017 the Law has been very clear : on the ground already, ball comes to you, you can't play it.

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,101

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    Having just watched it, it would have been very harsh to have penalised any-one in that play. I would word the situation differently: as Curry lands on his back the ball drops onto his chest from the charge-down. He played it immediately, instinctively before he had a chance to do anything else. By the letter of the Law he shouldn't have done so, but really it would have looked extremely strange if he had just left it on his chest, or done nothing as it rolled off him. No other player complained (and not many referees noticed). Empathy triumphs for me in refereeing this particular situation.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  8. #18
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,095

    Default Re: Player on ground catching the ball

    I disagree with your argument.

    For me it is not just a case of, for instance, an accidental offside where a player cannot avoid touching /playing a ball, but rather, as has previously been stated, a deliberate and considered action.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •