Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    12 Feb 18
    Posts
    1

    Default Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    Hello, Seeking clarification on Dupont's try for France v England in the 2021 6 Nations. Great build up play but it seems to me that Dupont taps the ball forward to himself before scoring. First, why is that not a deliberate knock on? Then, is it lawful to throw or bat the ball forward across the pitch, e.g. to avoid a tackle?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,068

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    No you can't "bat the ball" to avoid a tackle. Can't comment on the specifics of the incident as I did not see the game.

  3. #3

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    I’m really lost with this one. It’s not legal to deliberately tap or knock the ball ahead to catch it, however you are allowed to juggle for possession. Given he probably couldn’t have gained possession cleanly without tapping the ball like he did, is this a deliberate knock forward to gain possession?

    ive no particular complaint about the outcome, great try, but I’d like to understand when something is considered a knock on (when the ball is regathered like this) and when it isn’t

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,011

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    Juggling trying to catch is ok. Deliberate knock forward is not.

    To me the try seemed good

  5. #5
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    463

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    What crossref said !
    If you're trying to bring the ball under control then a knock forward and re-gather is generally ok.
    If you already have the ball in your control and bat it forward as you approach a would-be tackler then you risk being penalised for a deliberate knock forward.

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,190

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    I questioned this at first glance, but on replay it looked like went forward in the action of gathering, so juggling and ok for me

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,005

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    so presumably if White 14 had tackled Blue 9 after the tap but before the catch (which it appears he could have done), that would have been OK?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t29q19nd5xo
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Aug 12
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    Yes. Just like you can tackle a player who has dropped the ball to kick

  9. #9

    Referees in Australia
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Central Australian Rugby Referees
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,702

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    so presumably if White 14 had tackled Blue 9 after the tap but before the catch (which it appears he could have done), that would have been OK?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t29q19nd5xo
    Tim Stimpson would tell you "yes"
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,383

    Default Re: Dupont try FR v EN 2021 6 Nats

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    so presumably if White 14 had tackled Blue 9 after the tap but before the catch (which it appears he could have done), that would have been OK?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t29q19nd5xo
    as others have said... yes...

    and had the ball as a result hit eg the ground it would have been a knock on.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •