Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Exeter Quins

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,536

    Default Exeter Quins

    The incident where Townsend lifts Dombrant's legs, before he picked up the ball.
    This caused him to bobble the ball, but get the pass away and Quins dot down.
    Brought back for the knock on and a penalty given for taking out Dombrant.
    Could the TO3 have thought about a penalty try?

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,114

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    I thought it there was an opportunity to watch it once and decide that the bobble was NOT clearly and obviously forward.

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,082

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    As a suggestion. Discussions are easier to participate in if:

    1. you attach a video link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0K9ek_P6dLc

    2. time stamp it with either game time or youtube time (52:33 game time)

    3. use player colour & number instead of surname (ie Black 9 and White 8)

    I think a try was not "probable" so no PT.

    I also don't think it was even a penalty. As per our other discussion about "possession", once White 8 plays the ball he is in possession and liable to be tackled.
    Last edited by Dickie E; 15-03-21 at 02:03.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Nov 18
    Posts
    226

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    As a suggestion. Discussions are easier to participate in if:

    1. you attach a video link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0K9ek_P6dLc

    2. time stamp it with either game time or youtube time (52:33 game time)

    3. use player colour & number instead of surname (ie Black 9 and White 8)

    I think a try was not "probable" so no PT.

    I also don't think it was even a penalty. As per our other discussion about "possession", once White 8 plays the ball he is in possession and liable to be tackled.
    Thanks for the video link Dickie, now I can see what the OP is talking about!

    I agree with you about it not being a penalty as the player attempting to bring the ball under control is liable to be tackled legally.

    But strangely, the ref had his arm out before the tackle, presumably for a scrum infringement, so there would have been a penalty to Quins nevertheless.

    (And the ref was unsighted from the tackle by red 9 on black 8 as he was on the other side of the scrum.)

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,114

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    not shown in the highlights - CMK actually told Dombrandt 'you were tackled without the ball' Does that make a difference?

    the timing on tackling a #8 pick up is very fine.

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,036

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    You can hear that the penalty was for a scrum collapse. Not convinced it was a knock-on. If it wasn’t a penalty for the collapsed scrum I think we could have had a penalty against H8 for playing the ball while on floor. There does still seem to be inconsistency here.

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,114

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    You can hear that the penalty was for a scrum collapse. Not convinced it was a knock-on. If it wasn’t a penalty for the collapsed scrum I think we could have had a penalty against H8 for playing the ball while on floor. There does still seem to be inconsistency here.
    if he was legally tackled, he's OK to pass the ball from the floor
    if he was illegally tackled, then PK to Quins?

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Yet to join
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Oct 11
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    You can hear that the penalty was for a scrum collapse. Not convinced it was a knock-on. If it wasn’t a penalty for the collapsed scrum I think we could have had a penalty against H8 for playing the ball while on floor. There does still seem to be inconsistency here.
    Ref clearly states, vid time 2:48, "9 tackling player off the ball"!

    I would also be concerned about the way the black 9 is stood on white 4's right ankle!

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,036

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    if he was legally tackled, he's OK to pass the ball from the floor
    if he was illegally tackled, then PK to Quins?
    I agree if he maintains possession of the ball in a tackle. I believe he lost possession and had to regather it and then pass it off the floor.

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NP Performance Reviewer
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,036

    Default Re: Exeter Quins

    Quote Originally Posted by BikingBud View Post
    Ref clearly states, vid time 2:48, "9 tackling player off the ball"!

    I would also be concerned about the way the black 9 is stood on white 4's right ankle!
    He did clearly say that but just before that and under the voice if the commentator he mentions the collapse. Also at 51.46 he holds his arm out to award the penalty and mentions the 9 playing the 8. It was possibly two penalties in a row. He plays advantage. There was no doubt in the mind of the referee about the collapse. He was not really sure about the playing of the 8. He went to TMO about a possible knock on; possiblly because of input from the TMO. He decided it was so went back to the first penalty and also decided the playing of the 8 was illegal. From what we can see in the video I would say there was some doubt about the knock-on and the playing of the 8.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •