Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Tackle from field of play into in-goal

      
  1. #1
    Newbie Referee, youth rugby coach

    Soc/Assoc
    NERRS
    Grade
    Waaay down at the bottom
    Join Date
    11 Jun 18
    Posts
    25

    Question Tackle from field of play into in-goal

    I was reading the Danny Care try thread (https://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread...Danny-Care-Try) and had a question - is it a tackle if it initially occurs on the field of play but ends up in-goal?

    Rather than hijack that thread, I thought I’d break it out.

    Consider the scenario: The ball carrier is running toward goal, and is legally tackled just short of goal. The ball carrier is brought down cleanly but momentum rolls the ball carrier and tackler onto their backs and carries both players into in-goal.

    Does the tackler have to release since a tackle occurred or does it cease to be a tackle once they slide into in-goal since the principal of Law 14 has tackles only occur in the field of play which by definition excludes in-goal (and we’re back to the how long do give the players to ground the ball before calling held up).

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: Tackle from field of play into in-goal

    Have to see it really, but if as I’m imagining it and the tackle doesn’t complete till in goal then I’m not expecting the tackler to roll, but I’m also not going to let them scrabble around for long - probably as long as it takes for momentum to stop them moving and a second or so to ground it else held up

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    -
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: Tackle from field of play into in-goal

    Does the tackler have to release NO since a tackle occurred or

    does it cease to be a tackle YES once they slide into in-goal since the principal of Law 14 has tackles only occur in the field of play which by definition excludes in-goal

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •