Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 76

Thread: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

      
  1. #51

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,005

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by SimonSmith View Post
    If that had been a shoulder charge, I can understand that mitigation.
    I'm not sure I understand how attempting to wrap mitigates a head to head collision. This seems to me to be a cop out.
    maybe the attempted wrap takes it from "reckless" (unguided missile with no consideration for outcome) to "careless" (got timing wrong)
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #52
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,190

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Not convinced on the mitigation either, however that’s subjective - at least we know now that it should have been a sanction on the framework

  3. #53

    Referees in Australia
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Central Australian Rugby Referees
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,702

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    maybe the attempted wrap takes it from "reckless" (unguided missile with no consideration for outcome) to "careless" (got timing wrong)
    Any half decent lawyer in a disciplinary hearing is going to quote that.m "yes, we admit there was contact to the head, but my client was trying to wrap. Following the recent decision, the card should be dropped to a yellow..."
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  4. #54
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,190

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    It's the most obvious way out, if considered deliberate or reckless then there can be no mitigation. If you can get mitigation to apply then it's not a red therefore citing doesn't apply (at least as I understand it)

  5. #55

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,383

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    agree with the recent comments (#43 onwards).

    How frankly that isnt a RC is beyond me. But then I don;t sit on a 6N discisplinary panel. I thouroughly agree with Dickie - that wasnt a change of direction, and what tiny movement there was made no difference to the height of Magatti's head etc. Unless she was suddenly going to drop to a knee height tackle in the final FOOT of her approach - yeah right.

    I smell bullshit.

    didds

  6. #56

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,383

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    And while we may have queries over the panel's view of changing direction etc the bigger query is surely how the ref and in particular TMO got that so wrong - TMO particularly as the ref didnt have a visual display available . Including use of terminology ("accidental") that doesnt appear in the protocols and frameworks?

    didds

  7. #57

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    868

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Not convinced on the mitigation either, however that’s subjective - at least we know now that it should have been a sanction on the framework
    So the Referee, ARs X2 and TMO thought not even a PK, the Citing Officer thought RC, and the Disciplinary Committee thought YC. Glad that this framework has brought consistency to officiating.

  8. #58
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,426

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    So the Referee, ARs X2 and TMO thought not even a PK, the Citing Officer thought RC, and the Disciplinary Committee thought YC. Glad that this framework has brought consistency to officiating.
    Exactly this.

  9. #59

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,115
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    I didn't see any change of direction from White, and the Blue player was still rising as she hit, so it was never going to be anything other than a head on head contact.

    The TMO cannot have followed the protocol map or they would never have come to the decision they did. Unless by accidental they meant it wasn't foul play?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  10. #60

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,383

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    "accidental" is still not a word in the protocol, and was repeated as an explanantion by the ref (alebit accpeting this isnt her first language).

    I thought the ref had a good game overall. But this To4 interaction was bloody woeful. Well... To3 ... I'd accept one AR was at least 60m away so probably didnt have any input that was really valid.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •