Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 76

Thread: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

      
  1. #41
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    there may be nunaces that you are aware of that I'm not, but I'm not seeing a low degree of danger here. its a direct head clash. what higher danger can there be ? (including to the tackler themself!)
    I'm assuming - and could be wrong - that degree of danger correlates to the force of the impact - in that the impact in the ladies game was lower than that in the RC example

  2. #42

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,385

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    well... I would respectfully suggest that we are now entering a subjective area whereby potentially the only likely real impact of stopping head collisions howsoever happening will be made at the male elite level as nobody else can "probably" provide any real force. I fail to see how such an approach can send a message to NOT get near the head, across the game. Back to square one.

    didds
    Last edited by didds; 3 Weeks Ago at 12:04.

  3. #43

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,031

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    for me - under current guidelines - that looks like a card

  4. #44
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,426

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Found it. Indeed, It v E - apologies

    67th minute

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SrweZTwpSI8&t=5440s
    Just seen it - looks like a red to me, by current framework.

  5. #45

    Referees in Scotland


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    20 Dec 17
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    RC for me. I understand all the arguments about a relatively low degree of force. But the player went into a tackle high, had time to lower and chose not not, direct impact to the head, no mitigation. RC.

  6. #46
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    There’s and RFU webinar doing the rounds with Wayne Barnes, walking though a lot of examples, talking through the process, considerations, degrees of danger etc - long, but worth a watch https://jwp.io/s/LMstgeFX

    Summary from that, the ita vs eng ladies game was the wrong decision for me, RC. We have a society meet tomorrow so be interesting how this is presented

  7. #47
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    As an aside, I think the Italian player (if it’s Maria Magazzi) has been cited, outcome not yet known

  8. #48
    Rugby Club Member Treadmore's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Dorchester
    Grade
    -
    Join Date
    11 Nov 08
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    As an aside, I think the Italian player (if it’s Maria Magazzi) has been cited, outcome not yet known
    Outcome was on Tuesday:

    Ms Magatti did not accept that she had committed an act of foul play. On review of the video footage and other evidence, and after hearing from Ms Magatti, the Disciplinary Committee determined that there had been an act of foul play (ie a dangerous tackle). The Disciplinary Committee went on to determine, after referring to World Rugby’s Head Contact Process document, which was issued in March 2021, that the foul play had involved reckless contact with the head but that it had not warranted a red card. The Disciplinary Committee found, in particular, that while the degree of danger had been sufficiently high for it to have amounted to a red card, as there was direct contact with the head at relatively high force, there were mitigating factors present (ie a sudden change of direction by Ms Dow, and an effort by Ms Magatti to wrap/bind with limited time to adjust). Accordingly, the Disciplinary Committee determined that the act of foul play would have warranted no more than a yellow card, and so the citing complaint was dismissed.

  9. #49

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,009

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    there were mitigating factors present (ie a sudden change of direction by Ms Dow,
    the only change of direction that I saw was bracing for impact.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #50

    Referees in Australia
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Central Australian Rugby Referees
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,705

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Treadmore View Post
    Outcome was on Tuesday:

    ...and an effort by Ms Magatti to wrap/bind with limited time to adjust). Accordingly, the Disciplinary Committee determined that the act of foul play would have warranted no more than a yellow card, and so the citing complaint was dismissed.
    If that had been a shoulder charge, I can understand that mitigation.
    I'm not sure I understand how attempting to wrap mitigates a head to head collision. This seems to me to be a cop out.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •