Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 76

Thread: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

      
  1. #11

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    If you follow the new flowchart, and decide no foul play, then it’s play on (which I agree with here) but has there not been cards for similar head on head clashes in the prem?

    So if there's no foul play aka accidental and the ball carrier ends up with severe concussion, a brain haemorrage and a career ending scenario ... it IS just a rugby incident ? That could have been avoided if the tackler had not targetted so high and the accidental head clash occurred?

    Asking for a devil's advocate friend ... ;-)

  2. #12
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    For me it's an accidental rugby collision.
    I don't agree that it should have been a red card.
    Having viewed past the few seconds that the TMO appeared to have been assessing I believe that the head to head was an accidental collision but in my opinion it should have been a penalty for the subsequent 'high tackle'!

    On a side note......the body language /reaction of the Ref after consulting with the TMO was 'comical'!!!

  3. #13
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    So if there's no foul play aka accidental and the ball carrier ends up with severe concussion, a brain haemorrage and a career ending scenario ... it IS just a rugby incident ? That could have been avoided if the tackler had not targetted so high and the accidental head clash occurred?

    Asking for a devil's advocate friend ... ;-)
    Well, this one was a red card - because he targeted a upright tackle https://www.rugbydump.com/news/refer...-and-stitches/

    Am I missing a significant difference?

  4. #14

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,009

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    If you follow the new flowchart, and decide no foul play, then it’s play on (which I agree with here) but has there not been cards for similar head on head clashes in the prem?
    for me that was reckless, no mitigation, with force. Red card.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #15

    Referees in Australia
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Central Australian Rugby Referees
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,706

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Straight red. Do not pass Go. Do not collect Match Bonus.

    She leads with her head. I don't believe it's deliberate, but that isn't the point. Head to head, with no mitigating factors I can see.
    Subjectively, and not part of my decision making process: very avoidable.

    I agree there isn't as much force in much of the Women's game, but I'm not sure that's a factor worth considering. As I said - offski.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  6. #16

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,009

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    'accidental' is when 2 players inadvertently clash heads - both chasing a ball, getting up off ground, etc

    I'd go as far as to say that an 'accidental' head clash (as opposed to deliberate, reckless or careless) is very unlikely by a tackler.
    Last edited by Dickie E; 3 Weeks Ago at 04:04.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  7. #17
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    So, again using the flowchart, are we supposed to classify a tackler arriving in an upright position as foul play? Player at fault, is the secondary wording on the flowchart? Therefore wrong decision in the ladies game?

    My common sense approach to that is play on, number of factors involved, none of them illegal, or dangerous, but head contact happened, hope everyone’s ok - please try to tackle lower.

    My framework approach looks like, tackler was upright, therefore at fault, sanction ....

  8. #18

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,009

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    So, again using the flowchart, are we supposed to classify a tackler arriving in an upright position as foul play?
    if a head clash occurs then yes (IMO). It is reckless. Sanction will then depend on mitigation and/or degree of force
    Last edited by Dickie E; 3 Weeks Ago at 08:04.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  9. #19

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Well, this one was a red card - because he targeted a upright tackle https://www.rugbydump.com/news/refer...-and-stitches/

    Am I missing a significant difference?
    “He’s always high. He’s got clear line of sight to run into the tackle, and he makes direct head contact with the Wasps player… No attempt to dip. I don’t think there’s any way we can mitigate that. So it’s got to be a red card"

    And that is what Ive been hearing all season at least. The incident in the Ita v Eng game fits that description to a tee.

    So either the Italy player got lucky and the TMO/Ref there were totally wrong ... OR Carley got the Glos decsion totally wrong.

    So when did the new protocols come in?

  10. #20

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by SimonSmith View Post
    I agree there isn't as much force in much of the Women's game, but I'm not sure that's a factor worth considering. As I said - offski.
    indeed. there isn't much probably in an U14s match either - but I can't believe head clashes from avoidable upright tackles are just ignored because "he didnt hit him VERY hard" ?

    As for " I don't believe it's deliberate, but that isn't the point" - this is entirely it. Of the RCs Ive seen this season none of them I'd say were a deliberate targetting of the head. So they are ALL accidental.

    so its back to this new framework - and if that says an accidental clash is play on then there will ne no RCs for any such incicent. I'm not saying that is right or wrong but it seems to say that "we" have gone from one exterme to another.
    Last edited by didds; 3 Weeks Ago at 08:04.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •