Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 76

Thread: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

      
  1. #31

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,009

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post

    so what DOEWS this newframework say shoud have happened and how does that refelct against the glos RC ?
    play on in these situations:

    Capture.JPG

    In all others, foul play has occurred.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #32
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    the attached is dated 10th March. What was date of women's game?
    Last weekend? Women's 6 nations has only been going 2 weeks I think

  3. #33

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    the attached is dated 10th March. What was date of women's game?

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...GwqZaxfMOQ2bMn
    10th April - last weekend.

  4. #34

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    play on in these situations:

    Capture.JPG

    In all others, foul play has occurred.

    Thanks Dickie.

    So - that deosnt describe what happened in Ita v Eng then?

    So foul play has occurred. and a card of some colour at least and using the Glos example more than likely a RC. And certainly a PK.

    Correct?

  5. #35
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    play on in these situations:

    Capture.JPG

    In all others, foul play has occurred.
    No significant height drop, and blue has run in from a few meters so arguable time to adjust, it wasn't passive in the sense that blue was intending to tackle and / or drive into touch, and the other two don't apply - so by that there is fault? TMO's wording was it was 'Accidental' which isn't a trigger word in the framework (involuntary I think is the one they want to use - as commented above, very few are not an accident).

  6. #36
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Thanks Dickie.

    So - that deosnt describe what happened in Ita v Eng then?

    So foul play has occurred. and a card of some colour at least and using the Glos example more than likely a RC. And certainly a PK.

    Correct?
    Ignoring the RC example, and framework alone I get to PK - low degree of danger, but I wouldn't argue if someone gets to YC.

    I would like to know what the outcome of the teams's review of the ladies game was, was their decision considered ok or an error?

  7. #37

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    228

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    It seems to me that the new framework undermines the efforts of the game to get rid of the stand up tackle. In this case, and using the framework, no foul play has occured therefore play-on. The Italian defender attempted a tackle and a clash of heads occured but the stand up tackle is not in itself foul play (If she had wrapped the ball carrier and brought her to ground without making contact with the head that would have been fine). Up until now my understanding was that World Rugby had said that if you attempt a stand-up tackle and make contact with the head first you will be penalised and after that the degree of mitigation will be considered. The new framework is not written that way.

  8. #38

    Referees in Australia
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Central Australian Rugby Referees
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,706

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    sorry but again no. The point is that just because it is not deliberate does not make it accidental
    Agreed.
    Somewhere in the continuum in between “deliberate” and “accidental” there is “reckless” and/or “with no consideration for the safety of the opponent”.
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  9. #39

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post

    I would like to know what the outcome of the teams's review of the ladies game was, was their decision considered ok or an error?

    Im presuming this info is not publically available?

  10. #40

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,386

    Default Re: Head clash, with force, "accidental" = no card? women's 6N

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Ignoring the RC example, and framework alone I get to PK - low degree of danger,
    there may be nunaces that you are aware of that I'm not, but I'm not seeing a low degree of danger here. its a direct head clash. what higher danger can there be ? (including to the tackler themself!)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by SimonSmith View Post
    Agreed.
    Somewhere in the continuum in between “deliberate” and “accidental” there is “reckless” and/or “with no consideration for the safety of the opponent”.
    I suspect that we are all violently agreeing here in reality :-)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •