Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    463

    Question Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Red attacking blue in open play. Red 10 decides to kick a up-and-under into the 22. The blue 15 is under it and catches it cleanly. However, he does not call "Mark" . Just as he catches it, 2 red attackers wrap him and blue-11 gets back and binds on to his 15 . Everyone stays on their feet so we have a maul. The red players drive this maul backwards into the in-goal area where it collapses and Blue 15 grounds the ball.

    What is the decision ?
    (a) Blue 15 carried it into in-goal so its a attacking 5m scrum
    (b) Maul from a kick so we give a 5 metre scrum to Blue
    (c) Something else

    I think I know what my choice is but wondered if it can be affirmed here ( not saying yet to avoid pre-bias )

    Thank you , you clever people. !

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Not (b) because there is no maul in goal (it evaporated!) so I’m thinking (a) as blue last in possession and took in into in goal. Whether I’d do that with a second or two to think about it after a kick chase remains to be seen!

  3. #3

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    Red attacking blue in open play. Red 10 decides to kick a up-and-under into the 22. The blue 15 is under it and catches it cleanly. However, he does not call "Mark" . Just as he catches it, 2 red attackers wrap him and blue-11 gets back and binds on to his 15 . Everyone stays on their feet so we have a maul. The red players drive this maul backwards into the in-goal area where it collapses and Blue 15 grounds the ball.

    What is the decision ?
    (a) Blue 15 carried it into in-goal so its a attacking 5m scrum
    (b) Maul from a kick so we give a 5 metre scrum to Blue
    (c) Something else

    I think I know what my choice is but wondered if it can be affirmed here ( not saying yet to avoid pre-bias )

    Thank you , you clever people. !
    A

    Depending on the competition this could be a Goal line drop out?

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,165

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    The key question is : has the maul ended successfully or unsuccessfully?

    Once a maul moves into in goal it has ended successfully and the "use it or lose it" doesn't apply.

    So, as others have said, answer is A
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    463

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Just wondering if, the maul lasts for long enough and it certainly stops moving forward , so I could blow for unsuccessful end to the maul before it makes it into the in goal area ?

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrouchTPEngage View Post
    Just wondering if, the maul lasts for long enough and it certainly stops moving forward , so I could blow for unsuccessful end to the maul before it makes it into the in goal area ?
    Sure, traditionally you'll give the 9 a couple of warnings first so no gotchas, but yet, reward the defence (normally) for stopping the maul, here it would actually be the attacking team who get to keep the ball

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,433

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    Sure, traditionally you'll give the 9 a couple of warnings first so no gotchas, but yet, reward the defence (normally) for stopping the maul, here it would actually be the attacking team who get to keep the ball
    Not since the maul directly follows a kick in open play, surely?

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Maul caught from a kick. How to restart after this one ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NL View Post
    Not since the maul directly follows a kick in open play, surely?
    Sorry, yes, a mental block I have, attacking team != team in possession, it’s the team who’s half you’re not in - I was right in terms of which team I meant, just wrong definition

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •