Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: England v France - 24/4/2921

      
  1. #1

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,388

    Default England v France - 24/4/2921

    Couple of points from last weekend's Eng v Fra women's 6N game I thought worth a chat about...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiHt_gWJoqw&t=2950s
    played on, no To4 response at all. Marginal ?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiHt_gWJoqw&t=3315s
    again, no To4 interaction... do you (not) see what I (did not) see ?

    didds

  2. #2

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    228

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    The first incident was, as you say, marginal but in my opinion didnt go past the horizontal so play on. Essentially though the tackler wasnt in control of the outcome. If the England 8 twists once her feet are in the air she potentially lands on her head or neck and then it becomes a sending off. Silly of the tackler to put themselves in that position.

    Second one I saw at the time and didnt think it reflected well on the player or officials. Officially incorrectly taken penalty and should be a retake. That said I'd be loathe to reward a player who either doesnt know the laws or was trying to pull a fast one. I assume she wouldnt have admitted the incorrect penalty take had she scored but I may be doing her an injustice.

  3. #3

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,388

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    Pretty much my take on both scenarios.

    I think that #9 in scenario 2 knew exactly what she was doing. She is seemigly a bit antsy after her subsequent chip ahead went stright into touch and appeared to be grumpy about something ... I did wonder if she was trying to point out she shoud have the PK again as she hadnt taken it correctly.

  4. #4

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    08 Nov 18
    Posts
    228

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    I cant really work out what the 9 was protesting about. Looking at it again though the ref would be within her rights to award the scrum under 20.11 although I'm not sure thats equitable. I'd be inclined to think it was a rush of blood to the head and call it back to be retaken although my decision would probably be based on how much grief I had received from the 9 throughout the game (not sure international refs have that luxury though)

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,192

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    Was she claiming not 10 by white maybe? Otherwise no idea

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,516

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    I think she might have believed she was continuing to play under advantage - so expect that as no advantage they would get the penalty.

  7. #7

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,388

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    bah. i didnt travel forward in time by 900 years - apologies!

  8. #8

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    872

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    For the scrum PK does the #8 kick the ball through the mark (or behind it) after the whistle?

  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,388

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    For the scrum PK does the #8 kick the ball through the mark (or behind it) after the whistle?
    I watched it again to "make sure".

    if the #8 did it is certainly not at all clear and obvious, and i'd be very confident in saying she didnt. If anything she is still, at the whistle, trying to control the ball under her left foot unsuccessfully as the french scrum moves to quickly away from the ball.
    Last edited by didds; 2 Weeks Ago at 18:04.

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: England v France - 24/4/2921

    I'd ping the tackle as dangerous. You don't neeed to go beyond the "H" for it to be so.

    For the the PK. I think she thought or was trying to imply she was playing advantage. Either way it was not advantge and it should have gone back for the incorectly taken pk. I guess missed or not "clear and obvious"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •