Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: France v England - 30/4/2021

      
  1. #11
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,224

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    In the games I ref I wouldn’t have seen it, my eyes were on the handbags elsewhere, first I’d know would be when the touchline erupts and I have no idea what has happened and would be powerless to defuse it ☹️

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    RugbyWA
    Join Date
    14 Nov 16
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    I seem to be in a minority of one here, but for me the YC was the right call. Mitigate down from a Red because of Whites actions.
    If white hadn't grabbed her leg it never would have happened, the knee went down to the shoulder and only skimmed the head because white had got her off balance. White made a meal of it in my opinion.
    Yellow seems right, but I would have been tempted to YC both of them and then give the penalty to White.
    Mitigation does not apply for intentional or highly reckless acts of foul play

  3. #13

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,111

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    Quote Originally Posted by Flish View Post
    In the games I ref I wouldn’t have seen it, my eyes were on the handbags elsewhere, first I’d know would be when the touchline erupts and I have no idea what has happened and would be powerless to defuse it ☹️
    :-) :-)

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,158
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    Quote Originally Posted by UpandUnder View Post
    Mitigation does not apply for intentional or highly reckless acts of foul play
    The mitigation comment was in relation to the minimal head contact, for which mitigation is allowed in the head contact protocol.

    In fact mitigation in foul play happens all the time, as we as referees regularly take other events into account when deciding on sanctions. Was that high tackle a Red, Yellow or just a PK? We may not call it mitigation, but that is the process we are going through in our minds.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #15
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    RugbyWA
    Join Date
    14 Nov 16
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    In this case what Blue 6 does is both intentional and reckless with contact to the head area, it's a clear RC.
    In your opinion.
    Last edited by Phil E; 06-05-21 at 09:05.

  6. #16
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    RugbyWA
    Join Date
    14 Nov 16
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    Why did you delete my post? It was informative and explained when mitigation can be used and when it shouldn't be used.

    Yes I gave my opinion but isn't that what forums are for?

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,158
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: France v England - 30/4/2021

    Damn, sorry, that was completely unintentional.
    I must have hit edit instead of reply (the buttons are next to each other for mods).

    I do apologise, not sure if I can undo that action but will try. (EDIT I cant undo the action, sorry)

    Sorry again, it wasn't meant to be censorship, just a cockup.
    Last edited by Phil E; 06-05-21 at 10:05.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •