Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Reaching Out

      
  1. #1

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Reaching Out

    If a player reaches out to score while being tackled, are they entitle to reach out again?

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,259

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    need to see the video but I would think yes
    as long as they don't crawl/wriggle/belly creep along the ground and then reach

  3. #3

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    General question.


    Rees-Zammit non-try from Wednesday made me think about it. At first it sounded like Peyper was saying the 2nd reach was worthy of a PK, then said something like RZ was short of the line anyways.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,174

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    If a player reaches out to score while being tackled, are they entitle to reach out again?
    Once tackled there are three things (Pass / place / release) they can do "immediately". Until they are tackled they can do what they like (almost).

    What they do before the tackle is completed has no bearing on post tackle.

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,185

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    If a player reaches out to score while being tackled, are they entitle to reach out again?
    I'd need a clearer understanding of what "while being tackled" means. But I agree with Marc's comments.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #6

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I'd need a clearer understanding of what "while being tackled" means. But I agree with Marc's comments.
    A player dives and reaches out for the goal-line (fully extended) is short, in the process is tackled, are they entitled to another reach?
    Last edited by thepercy; 17-07-21 at 06:07.

  7. #7

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    .....

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,259

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    A player dives and reaches out for the goal-line (fully extended) is short, in the process is tackled, are they entitled to another reach?
    Like the force of the tackle actually knocked him a bit closer ?
    So now he can reach the line

    I reckon yes

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NLMOT PR
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    If a player reaches out to score while being tackled, are they entitle to reach out again?
    Yes. Nigel Owen explained why during the match. Jaco P wasn’t clear when he was trying to reason the incident and perhaps there was some input from his very experienced AR to get him to start referring to the third movement which involved dragging the ball back.
    Basically ok as long as there is no crawl/wriggle as CR says in his post.

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,553

    Default Re: Reaching Out

    I think they concluded the second legal reach didn't make the line therefore he couldn't perform a third movement to bring the ball back.
    Ciaran Trainor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •