Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Scrum question

      
  1. #1
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,111

    Default Scrum question

    The ball has been hooked, but remains near the edge of the tunnel with neither team going forward. A flanker uses a foot to move the ball back through the scrum towards their number 8.
    What should the referee do?

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,536

    Default Re: Scrum question

    Faint at the very idea that the ball was put in straight and needed to be hooked.

    All the laws say is the hooker from the team that throws the ball in must strike for the ball. (19.22)
    Any play may play the ball with their feet. (19.24)

    So, provided the scrum is staying up, play on.

  3. #3
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,111

    Default Re: Scrum question

    When I was asked this question my sentiment was similar to yours.... be glad that the ball is on it's way to the 8 and will hopefully be away soon!!!

  4. #4
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,111

    Default Re: Scrum question


  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,158
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scrum question

    Law 19.38.e
    None front row players playing the ball in the tunnel.
    Sanction Free Kick


    Any player may play the ball...but not while its in the tunnel, that is front row territory.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #6

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    898

    Default Re: Scrum question

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Law 19.38.e
    None front row players playing the ball in the tunnel.
    Sanction Free Kick


    Any player may play the ball...but not while its in the tunnel, that is front row territory.
    Has anyone ever called this FK in the real world?

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,133

    Default Re: Scrum question

    I have not, because I've never seen it happen.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,133

    Default Re: Scrum question

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post

    All the laws say is the hooker from the team that throws the ball in must strike for the ball. (19.22)
    Any play may play the ball with their feet. (19.24)

    So, provided the scrum is staying up, play on.
    Only the FR whilst the ball is in the tunnel 19.20

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,111

    Default Re: Scrum question

    In a law exam it's the FK to the oppo

    in a real game on Saturday. .ffs play on


    (If you think there is a chance it could happen again, have a word with the flanker and the prop and say technically, you can't do that ..next time you do it ..

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,536

    Default Re: Scrum question

    FFS why is that not in the during a scrum section. The rewrite was meant to make this easier to understand.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •